Best Outdoor Planter Boxes and Raised Garden Beds for Patios, Porches and Yards
# Best Outdoor Planter Boxes and Raised Garden Beds for Patios, Porches and Yards
Every product detail in this guide comes from the supplied product data for each item. Manufacturer claims are marked as claims. The set includes a solar post lamp with a planter, a fabric grow bag and a few vertical towers, which are not classic raised beds. Each is covered in its own entry so you can see what it does.
Raised beds and planter boxes sound like one category, but the set below stretches the idea. It includes a solar lamp with a planter on its post, a fabric grow bag, a four-tier vertical tower, a five-tier stand and a set of galvanized beds that sit on wheels. Before you compare looks or sizes, decide what you want the box to do: hold a few herbs on a porch, carry tomatoes on a patio, or give a yard a full bed for vegetables.
Start here: who these planters suit, and who should skip them
These planters suit someone with a porch, balcony, patio or yard who wants a container with good drainage and a footprint that fits the space. They also suit a gardener who wants to lift the soil off the ground to reduce bending, or who needs a bed that can be moved.
The smaller boxes will not give a large vegetable plot enough soil. Soil capacities in the set range from about 5.5 liters for the Pure Garden box to 23 cubic feet for the Vego kit, so pick by volume first. They also do not suit you if you want a planter with no drainage, since most listings state drainage as a feature.
Quick picks by space and plant
Rather than ranking, this section matches each planter to a space and a plant.
- A front porch or a corner: the Pure Garden lattice planter (B07Y8ZPG8Z) and the OYEAL front porch set (B0DXVJY9Q3), listed under the set name Front Porch Planters.
- A balcony or small patio with herbs: the Keter Urban Bloomer (B079SQRL46), which the maker describes as an herb garden and balcony planter, and the BIVODA small HDPE bed (B0DDXM5TMH).
- Tomatoes and climbing plants: the Antmoilios 56-inch bed with trellis (B0DRNNYLVD), and the OYEAL 32-inch bed with an 11-inch trellis (B0DXVJY9Q3).
- A vertical garden for a small footprint: the OYEAL four-tier planter (B0BZNGPJRC) and the Procands five-tier stand (B0H185Z5FF).
- A large vegetable bed in a yard: the Vego garden nine-in-one kit (B09FPXQGL5) and the Land Guard two-pack (B08QM9K227), both metal kits.
- A bed that moves and stands at waist height: the Chuangshuo Guard two-piece set with wheels (B0FT2P8234), which the maker describes as 32 inches tall.
- A bed with a solar lamp: the Derynome solar lamp with planter (B0BZP3GZ77).
- A fabric bed with eight grids: the CJGQ 128-gallon bed (B0BK8SW7WM), which the maker describes as a grow bag.
How to choose: five checks that matter more than the title
1. Planter type. Decide first whether you want a box that sits on the ground, a raised bed on legs, a vertical tower, a fabric grow bag or a lamp with a planter on it. A box is the simplest to fill. A raised bed on legs reduces bending. A tower lets you grow up rather than out. A fabric bag is light and flexible. The lamp is a light first and a planter second.
2. Drainage. Water needs a way out. Most of the metal and plastic beds list drainage holes, and several have an open base or removable trays. The Keter bed has a drain plug that opens and closes, which the maker presents as control over watering. The Antmoilios bed has a bottom reservoir and air holes, which the maker says help plant vitality. Look for drainage in the features list before you buy.
3. Material. Galvanized steel, HDPE, polypropylene, resin and fabric each behave differently outdoors. Galvanized steel is the heaviest and the most rigid. HDPE and resin are made for weather. Polypropylene is light and is used in the smaller boxes. Fabric is the lightest and the most flexible. The material section below compares them in more detail.
4. Size, depth and soil volume. The listings give dimensions and capacities in different units, and they do not always match, so check the depth first. Plants need depth for roots. The Antmoilios planter gives 12 by 12 by 12 inches for its planter, and the Procands boxes are 8.07 by 23.15 by 5.91 inches each. The Keter bed holds 22.4 gallons according to one field, and the title says 12.7 gallons. That conflict is covered in its entry.
5. Assembly and mobility. Some kits go together in minutes with tools in the box. Others need more time. Several beds have wheels, but not all of them have lockable wheels. The Antmoilios planter has two lockable swivel casters and the Chuangshuo Guard set has two plus-size wheels with a handlebar. Check whether you will need to move a filled bed.
Measure and match
Measure the space and the plants before you order.
- Footprint: measure the place where the planter will sit, including clearance for a watering can or a path. The Pure Garden box is 14.75 inches square, while the Procands tower is listed at 26 by 22 by 48 inches, so the two need very different floor space.
- Height: the Chuangshuo Guard set is 32 inches tall and the OYEAL front porch set is 32.4 inches. The makers of the two 32-inch beds say the height reduces bending and knee strain.
- Depth: a bed needs depth for roots. The Antmoilios planter is listed at 12 inches deep, and the Vego kit is listed at 17 inches tall. The Land Guard beds are listed at 12 inches, and the JERIA beds at 11 inches.
- Soil volume: the listings give capacity in gallons, cubic feet and liters. The Keter bed is 22.4 gallons, the BIVODA bed is 10 gallons, the Eclaron set is 7.1 cubic feet, the Vego kit is 23 cubic feet, and the CJGQ bag is 128 gallons. The JERIA two-piece set is 226.56 liters.
- Weight capacity: the Chuangshuo Guard set is rated at 400 pounds, the BIVODA bed at 250 pounds and the Procands tower at 25 pounds per tier. Check the figure against the soil you plan to fill, since wet soil is heavy.
Comparison table
| Product | ASIN | Type | Main size | Material | Soil or capacity | Drainage |
|—|—|—|—|—|—|—|
| Derynome solar post lamp with planter | B0BZP3GZ77 | Solar lamp with planter | Path light, height not stated | Aluminum | Not stated in the listing | Not stated |
| Keter Urban Bloomer | B079SQRL46 | Raised bed on legs | 32.3 by 14.7 by 30.7 in | Resin | 22.4 gallons (title says 12.7) | Drain plug, water gauge |
| Pure Garden lattice planter | B07Y8ZPG8Z | Box planter | 14.75 by 14.75 by 13 in | Polypropylene | 5.46 liters | Drainage hole, open bottom |
| OYEAL four-tier vertical planter | B0BZNGPJRC | Vertical tower | 16.8 by 18.3 by 41.5 in | Metal and plastic | Box 16.8 by 7.02 by 5.5 in | Drainage holes, removable tray |
| JERIA 2 by 2 by 1 ft bed | B0CNLG6DL4 | Galvanized bed | 23 by 23 by 11 in | Galvanized steel | Not stated (capacity field unclear) | Open base |
| JERIA two-piece 4 by 2 by 1 ft set | B0CNLHCPGC | Galvanized beds | 47 by 23 by 11 in | Galvanized steel | 226.56 liters | Open base |
| Chuangshuo Guard two-piece with wheels | B0FT2P8234 | Galvanized beds on wheels | 37 by 15.7 by 32 in | Galvanized steel | 400 lb capacity | Five holes and two cross lines |
| BIVODA small HDPE bed | B0DDXM5TMH | HDPE bed | 29.9 by 14.2 by 19.7 in | HDPE | 10 gallons | Drilled holes, reinforced bottom |
| Eclaron two-pack kit | B0FJ7XBH1Q | Galvanized bed kit | 48 by 24 by 12 in | Double-layer galvanized | 7.1 cubic feet (pieces field reads 1) | Open base |
| Antmoilios 56-inch tower | B0DRNNYLVD | Vertical tower with wheels | 12 by 12 by 56 in | Polypropylene and steel | 12-inch capacity field | Air holes, bottom reservoir |
| OYEAL 32-inch vertical with trellis | B0DXVJY9Q3 | Vertical raised bed | 7.2 by 35.1 by 32.4 in | Metal and plastic | Four planter boxes | Drainage hole, removable tray |
| CJGQ 128-gallon fabric bed | B0BK8SW7WM | Fabric grow bag | 72 by 36 by 12 in (bullet) | Non-woven fabric | 128 gallons | Ventilated, drains through the fabric |
| Vego garden nine-in-one kit | B09FPXQGL5 | Metal raised bed kit | 24 by 96 by 17 in | Powder-coated steel | 23 cubic feet | Not stated in the listing |
| Procands five-tier stand | B0H185Z5FF | Vertical stand | 23.5 by 25.4 by 48.6 in | Powder-coated steel | Five boxes, 8.07 by 23.15 by 5.91 in | Two holes per tier |
| Land Guard two-pack | B08QM9K227 | Metal raised beds | 71 by 35.5 by 12 in | Galvanized metal | 15.55 cubic feet | Open base |
The 15 products, one by one
1. Derynome 72-inch Solar Outdoor Light with Planter, Waterproof Solar Post Lamp
This is a solar post lamp with a planter on it, not a raised bed. It has four solar panels, a built-in light sensor that turns the lamp on at dusk and charges it during the day, and a high-capacity battery. The maker says the lamp stays lit all night. The light is warm white at 3000 kelvin, with 50 lumens, and the page lists an IP65 specification. The body is powder-coated aluminum with decorative glass panels, and the fixture is listed as a post mount.
The title gives a 72-inch height, but the data gives no height figure, so not confirmed: check the height on delivery. The control field reads touch, while the controller field reads manual switch and the switch field reads toggle. Not confirmed: the three control fields disagree, so check how the lamp switches on. The warranty is a limited manufacturer warranty.
Best for: a path or garden light that also holds a few flowers on the post.
Skip if: you need a planter box for vegetables, since this is a light first.
2. Keter Urban Bloomer Raised Garden Bed and Outdoor Herb Garden Planter, Dark Grey
This is a resin raised bed with a built-in water gauge, a drainage plug that can be opened or closed, and a water reservoir that the maker says prevents root decay. It is described as an easy herb garden planter for balconies. The item measures 32.3 by 14.7 by 30.7 inches and is floor standing. The finish is wood-look, fade resistant and dark grey. The maker says assembly is simple and the instructions are easy to follow.
The title gives 12.7 gallons. The capacity field reads 22.4 gallons, and the data gives no reason for the gap. Not confirmed: the two capacity figures do not match, so check the box before planting. The levels field reads 2, but the product is one bed, and the item weight field reads 16 ounces, which is unusually light for a resin bed of this size. Not confirmed: check the weight on delivery. The warranty is a 2-year limited warranty.
Best for: a balcony or small patio herb bed with a built-in water gauge.
Skip if: you need the stated capacity confirmed before you buy, since the two figures disagree.
3. Lattice Design Outdoor Planter Box, 14.75-inch Square, Black, by Pure Garden
This is a square black polypropylene planter with a lattice design and a bottom insert. The planter is 14.75 inches square and 13 inches tall. The interior is 11.5 inches square, according to the product details, and the capacity is 5.46 liters. The open T-shaped bottom lifts the pot off the ground and lets water drain. The insert can be removed, and the maker says you can drill holes in the insert if you want more drainage.
The planter assembles without tools using snap-together parts, and a center base stand supports heavy plants. The maker describes it as a farmhouse-style planter for a porch or deck. It is listed for indoor and outdoor use.
The weight field reads 4 pounds, while the product details give 4.6 pounds. Not confirmed: the two weights differ, so use the product-detail figure if weight matters. The manufacturer warranty reads “Na”, which means not stated in the data.
Best for: a porch or patio pot that needs drainage and a decorative front.
Skip if: you need a planter of this height for a large root system, since the interior is 11.5 inches square.
4. OYEAL Raised Garden Bed Four-Tier Vertical Planter, Indoor and Outdoor, Black
This is a four-tier vertical planter with a triangular frame, sized at 16.8 by 18.3 by 41.5 inches overall. Each planter box measures 16.8 by 7.02 by 5.5 inches. The frame is metal, the boxes are plastic, and the finish is powder coated. The maker says the triangular design is stable and suits herbs, flowers and vegetables. The planter stands on a plant stand, and the set includes the stand and the planters.
Each plastic bin has a few drainage holes and a removable bottom tray. The maker says that helps water drain and prevents waterlogging. The maker also says instructions and installation tools are included, and offers after-sale service for lost parts or assembly questions.
The weight appears as 6.78 pounds in one field and 7.3 pounds in another. Not confirmed: the two weight figures do not match. The shape field reads triangular, which matches the frame described.
Best for: a small patio or balcony where you want to grow several plants in a small footprint.
Skip if: you need a large soil volume, since each box is 5.5 inches deep.
5. JERIA Raised Garden Bed, Galvanized, 2 by 2 by 1 ft, Round Garden Bed
This is a galvanized steel raised bed sized 2 by 2 by 1 feet. The item measures 23 by 23 by 11 inches and weighs 2.67 kilograms. The maker says the bed is made of thickened galvanized metal with a rust- and corrosion-resistant finish, and it has an open base so excess water drains. The top edge has a black rubber sealing strip, and the maker says the edges have no sharp corners.
The shape conflicts. The title and the size field say round, while the shape field reads rectangular. Not confirmed: check the shape on delivery. The capacity field reads 6.3 pounds, which is a weight unit, so the soil volume is not stated. The kit includes tools, instructions, safety gloves, rubber edge strips and galvanized nuts and bolts, according to the bullets. The included-components field lists only tools and instructions, so not confirmed: check the box for the gloves, strips and fasteners.
Best for: a small outdoor bed for vegetables, fruit, flowers and herbs, if you can confirm the shape and parts.
Skip if: you need a stated soil volume, since the capacity field gives a weight.
6. JERIA Raised Garden Bed, Galvanized, 2 Pieces, 4 by 2 by 1 ft, Large Garden Bed
This is a two-piece galvanized raised bed set, sized 4 by 2 by 1 feet per bed. The set measures 47 by 23 by 11 inches overall and has a stated capacity of 226.56 liters, which equals about eight cubic feet, the volume of one 4 by 2 by 1 foot bed. The data does not say whether that figure is per bed or for both. The maker says the bed is thickened galvanized metal, with an open base and a rubber sealing edge at the top. The set is described for vegetables, fruit, flowers and herbs.
The included-components field lists only tools and an instruction manual. The bullets list safety gloves, rubber edge strips and galvanized nuts and bolts. Not confirmed: the parts list conflicts, so check the box before you start the build. The product is described as easy to assemble with detailed instructions.
Best for: a yard or patio where two beds of that size are the plan.
Skip if: you need the parts list confirmed before ordering, since the page gives two versions.
7. Elevate 2-Piece Raised Garden Bed with Wheels, 32 Inches Tall, 400-Pound Capacity, Grey
This is a two-piece galvanized raised bed set on wheels. The item measures 37 by 15.7 by 32 inches and has a stated capacity of 400 pounds. The maker says the coating is an anti-rust charcoal grey finish, and that the galvanized steel is sturdy. The beds stand 32 inches tall, which the maker presents as a height that reduces knee strain. An extra 37-inch shelf holds tools or fertilizer, according to the bullets.
The dual-layer drainage design has five holes and two cross lines, which the maker says prevents waterlogging twice as fast as a single-hole bed. That is a claim. The maker also says the two plus-size wheels and an ergonomic handlebar move 200 pounds of soil easily. That is also a claim, and the data gives no test.
Not confirmed: the bullets say the bed is only 29.5 inches wide, while the width field reads 15.7 inches. Measure the space before you order. The included components list a raised bed and instructions for the two-piece set.
Best for: a bed that needs to move, at a height that suits a standing gardener, where a narrow space is the constraint.
Skip if: you need the width confirmed, since the figures conflict.
8. Small HDPE Raised Garden Bed with Legs, Outdoor All-Weather Planter, Navy Blue
This is a small HDPE raised bed on legs, in navy blue. The item measures 14.5 by 29.6 by 19.7 inches, and the product details give 29.9 by 14.2 by 19.7 inches, which is the same bed with the length and width listed in a different order. The planting space is 10 gallons, and the weight capacity is 250 pounds. The item weighs 9.57 kilograms.
The maker says HDPE does not splinter, crack, peel, rot or rust, and that it is designed for scorching sun, rain, salt spray, snow and strong coastal wind. These are claims, but the material is the reason for them. The maker says it is easy to clean with soap and water and needs no painting or sealing. Pre-inserted nuts and 304 stainless steel screws mean you do not drill holes to assemble it, and the maker says assembly takes about five minutes. The maker drilled small holes in the bottom for drainage and reinforced the base.
Best for: an outdoor all-weather bed on legs for herbs, seeds, flowers or small vegetables.
Skip if: you need more than 10 gallons of soil.
9. Raised Garden Bed Kit, 2-Pack 4 by 2 by 1 ft Galvanized Oval Metal Planter
This is a galvanized metal raised bed kit in a 4 by 2 by 1 foot size, sold as a two-pack. The item measures 48 by 24 by 12 inches and weighs 10 pounds. The maker describes the bed as oval, with a double-layer galvanized finish and rust resistance. It says the bed is made from ultra-thick Q195 steel, which it says is up to five times thicker than standard beds. That is a claim.
The capacity field gives 7.1 cubic feet. Not confirmed: the number-of-pieces field reads 1, while the set name reads two-pack, so check the count on delivery. The included components field lists tools only. The bullets describe an open bottom garden box with a trellis, but the trellis is not listed in the included parts. Not confirmed: whether a trellis comes in the box.
The maker describes heavy-duty construction with clamps and bolts and says the open base helps drainage and root health.
Best for: a yard bed that needs a durable galvanized metal frame, if you can confirm the count and the trellis.
Skip if: you need the trellis included, since the parts list does not show one.
10. Raised Garden Bed with Tomato Cage and Trellis, 56-Inch Self-Watering Tomato Planter, Lockable Wheels
This is a 56-inch vertical planter with a trellis and wheels. The frame is polypropylene and alloy steel, and the item measures 12 by 12 by 56 inches. The planter box is listed as 12 by 12 by 12 inches, which the maker says gives more room for soil and nutrients. The maker says the trellis can be adjusted into a one-to-four tier tower, which suits tomatoes and climbing vegetables. Two lockable swivel casters help move it, and the bottom reservoir and air holes support plant health. These are the maker’s claims.
The title says tomato cage, but the included components list air holes, a plant stand and wheels, with no cage. Not confirmed: check the box for a cage. The capacity field reads 12 inches, which is a depth, not a volume, so the soil volume is not stated.
Some bullets use another brand’s name in their headings. The brand field reads Antmoilios, so this guide uses that name.
The item weighs 2.88 kilograms. The maker says assembly is tool-free and takes minutes, and that the planter is expandable and detachable.
Best for: a tomato or climbing plant tower that you can move, with a self-watering reservoir.
Skip if: you need a confirmed cage in the box, since the parts list does not include one.
11. OYEAL Raised Garden Bed with Legs and Trellis, 32-Inch Vertical Herb Garden Planter, Green
This is a vertical herb garden planter with four rectangular planter boxes, a plant stand and a trellis. The item measures 7.2 by 35.1 by 32.4 inches and weighs 10.5 pounds. The maker says the 11-inch trellis supports climbing plants such as tomatoes, strawberries and peppers. The boxes are metal and plastic, with drainage holes and a removable tray that collects drained water and soil. The finish is listed as smooth, and the feature field lists foldable and scratch resistant.
The maker says the frame is rust resistant and weatherproof, and that it stands firm under heavy plants without wobbling. It also says assembly is tool-free and takes minutes, with all hardware included. These are claims. The color is green, which comes from the title, since the color field is not filled.
The number-of-levels field reads 1, while the product has four boxes. Not confirmed: the levels field does not describe the four boxes, so count the boxes on delivery.
Best for: a front porch or balcony herb planter that folds for storage.
Skip if: you need a confirmed level count, since the field conflicts with the four boxes.
12. CJGQ Fabric Raised Garden Bed, 128 Gallon, 8 Grids Plant Grow Bags, 3 by 6 Ft
This is a fabric raised bed with eight grids, sold as a grow bag. The maker describes it as premium non-woven fabric with reinforced stitching, reusable and durable. It holds 128 gallons, and the bullets give a size of 72 by 36 by 12 inches. The item dimensions field reads 11 by 12 by 4 inches, which is far smaller, so not confirmed: the item size conflicts. Check the bag’s size on delivery.
The maker says the fabric ventilates the root zone, which it says helps roots avoid circling and encourages healthier growth, and that excess water drains through the fabric. These are claims. The eight-grid design lets you divide the bed into sections, and the maker lists potatoes, vegetables, flowers, herbs and fruit as suitable crops.
The color field reads rectangular, which is a shape, not a color. The item weighs 16 ounces. The maker describes a 24-hour customer service reply, which is a claim.
Best for: a light bed for potatoes, vegetables and herbs.
Skip if: you want a rigid bed or a confirmed size, since the item dimensions do not match the bullets.
13. Vego Garden Raised Garden Bed Kit, 17 Inches Tall, Nine-in-One, 8 by 2 Ft, Olive Green
This is a metal raised bed kit that can be built into one of nine configurations. The item measures 24 by 96 by 17 inches, which is 2 by 8 feet, and the capacity is 23 cubic feet. The kit has 20 pieces and weighs 33 pounds. The maker says the 17-inch depth allows room for roots, better drainage and better soil quality, and that the higher bed reduces bending for weeding and harvesting.
The maker says the metal is a zinc, magnesium and aluminum coated steel with an AkzoNobel paint, which it calls VZ 2.0. The maker says the material is 100 percent safe and has a 20-year life, and that the performance was verified at a corrosion lab at Texas A&M. These are claims. The bed has an oval design with no sharp corners and heavy-duty rubber edging, and the kit includes the tools for assembly.
The data gives no drainage design and no warranty for this kit, so both are not stated in the listing.
Best for: a large yard bed where the kit’s configuration can match the space.
Skip if: you need a stated drainage design or warranty, since the data does not give either.
14. Procands 4-Foot Vertical Garden Bed, Five-Tier Vertical Raised Garden Planter, Dark Black
This is a five-tier vertical stand with five detachable planting boxes. The frame is powder-coated steel, and the maker says the rust-resistant finish suits outdoor use. Each tier has two drainage holes, and the staggered layout is meant to let every plant get sun and water. The overall size is 23.5 by 25.4 by 48.6 inches, and each planter box is 8.07 by 23.15 by 5.91 inches. Each tier is rated at 25 pounds.
The maker says assembly needs no power tools and takes minutes, using the included tools and instructions. The warranty is a one-year limited service covering labor and parts. The product dimensions field reads 26 by 22 by 48 inches, which does not match the 23.5 by 25.4 by 48.6 inches in the bullets. Not confirmed: the footprint figures disagree, so measure the space before you buy.
The heading says food-safe materials, but the body describes a powder-coated steel frame. Not confirmed: the data does not explain how the food-safe claim applies to the frame. Ask the maker before you grow food in the boxes.
Best for: a small patio or balcony where each tier can hold a different plant.
Skip if: you need a confirmed footprint or food-safe frame, since the data gives neither clearly.
15. Land Guard 6-Foot Metal Raised Garden Bed, Two-Piece Galvanized Planter Raised Beds
This is a two-piece galvanized metal raised bed kit. The item measures 71 by 35.5 by 12 inches, and each bed is listed as 6 by 3 by 1 foot. The capacity field reads 15.55 cubic feet. Not confirmed: two 6 by 3 by 1 foot beds have a nominal volume of 36 cubic feet, so the capacity figure does not reconcile without a stated interior size. Check the soil volume you need before you order.
The maker says the bed is made of Q195 galvanized steel with double-layer anti-corrosion galvanizing and an oval structure. It says the average wall thickness is 0.78 millimeters, with the thickest part at 1.56 millimeters. These are claims. The open base is meant to prevent water from pooling and protect plant roots. The maker says assembly takes about five minutes with the included tools, and that the beds can be reused for many years.
The brand field reads Land Guard, and the manufacturer field reads Cyantor-US. Not confirmed: the two names differ, so check the box for the maker before you contact support. The warranty is not stated in the data.
Best for: a long, low yard bed that needs a galvanized frame and open base.
Skip if: you need a confirmed capacity or warranty, since the data gives neither.
Materials compared: galvanized steel, HDPE, polypropylene, resin and fabric
Each material suits a different climate and use.
Galvanized steel is the most common in this set. The Chuangshuo Guard, JERIA, Eclaron, Land Guard and Vego kits are galvanized or galvanized-coated. Makers describe double-layer galvanizing, rust resistance and open bases. The Vego kit describes a coated steel with a paint layer. Galvanized beds are heavy, and they hold their shape in wind.
HDPE is a plastic that the BIVODA maker describes as resistant to rot, rust, splintering and weather. It is lighter than metal and needs no painting or sealing, according to the maker.
Polypropylene is a lightweight plastic used in the Pure Garden box and the Antmoilios tower. The Antmoilios maker describes its polypropylene as fade resistant and food grade, and that is a claim. Polypropylene is easy to move, but it may be less rigid than steel for very tall structures.
Resin appears in the Keter bed and the wood-look finish is part of the design. The maker describes it as fade resistant.
Fabric is used in the CJGQ bag. Fabric is the lightest and the most flexible. The maker describes ventilation through the fabric as a root-health benefit, which is a claim.
Metal and plastic combinations appear in the OYEAL planters, where the frame and the boxes are made of different materials.
Drainage and root health
Drainage matters because a planter that holds water too long can rot roots. The listings describe several approaches.
Open bases let excess water leave the bed. The JERIA beds, the Eclaron kit, the Vego kit and the Land Guard beds all use an open base, and the makers say the open base protects roots from water pooling.
Drainage holes in the sides and bottom are common. The BIVODA bed has small holes drilled in the bottom, and the Chuangshuo Guard set has five holes and two cross lines. The Procands tower has two holes per tier.
Removable trays help you empty water. The OYEAL four-tier tower and the OYEAL vertical bed both use a removable tray that collects drained water.
Reservoirs and water gauges suit a planter that needs regular watering. The Keter bed has a built-in water gauge and a drainage plug that can be opened or closed, and the Antmoilios tower has a bottom water reservoir with air holes.
Fabric drains through its walls. The CJGQ bag is ventilated, and the maker says excess water drains away.
Assembly, moving and care
Assembly times vary. The BIVODA maker says about five minutes, the Land Guard maker says about five minutes, and the Procands maker says minutes without power tools. The Keter maker describes easy assembly, and the OYEAL vertical maker says tool-free assembly in minutes. The Vego kit has 20 pieces and includes the tools.
Moving a filled bed is a separate task. The Chuangshuo Guard set has two plus-size wheels and a handlebar, and the maker says it moves 200 pounds of soil. The Antmoilios tower has two lockable swivel casters. Lock the casters before you water or plant, if the design allows.
Care is simple for most of these. Wash metal and plastic with soap and water, and rinse the drainage holes. The BIVODA maker says it is easy to clean with soap and water.
Check the joints and fasteners each season. Galvanized and steel frames can rust at a damaged coating, so touch up a scratch if you see one. The data does not give a touch-up product, so use a product suited to galvanized steel.
Before you buy: a checklist
- Measure the space, including the footprint and the height you need.
- Choose the planter type: box, raised bed on legs, vertical tower, fabric bag or lamp.
- Check the drainage features before you buy.
- Check the soil volume against the plants you plan to grow.
- Check the weight capacity against the soil you will fill.
- Confirm the parts list for the kit, especially any trellis, cage or gloves.
- Check any figure marked as not confirmed, and confirm it on delivery.
Frequently asked questions
Which planter suits a balcony with herbs? The Keter bed has a built-in water gauge, and the BIVODA bed is a small HDPE bed on legs with 10 gallons of soil. The OYEAL four-tier planter also suits a small footprint.
Which planter gives the most soil? The Vego kit lists 23 cubic feet, about 172 gallons, which is more than the CJGQ fabric bag’s 128 gallons. The Eclaron kit lists 7.1 cubic feet, though its count field is not confirmed.
Which planter is best for tomatoes? The Antmoilios tower has a trellis, a bottom reservoir and lockable wheels. Check that the cage is in the box, since the parts list does not include one.
Which items are not raised beds? The Derynome solar lamp is a light with a planter on its post. The CJGQ item is a fabric grow bag, and the Procands and OYEAL vertical units are stands with planting boxes.
Are the metal beds safe for food? The data does not confirm that for every metal bed. The Procands heading says food-safe materials, but the body describes a powder-coated steel frame, so ask the maker before growing food in those boxes.
What does “Not confirmed” mean here? It marks a figure or label that conflicts with another figure on the same page. The reason is given once, in the product entry, so you know what to check on delivery.
Links on this page are affiliate links, which means a purchase through them can support the site at no extra cost to you.