Best Tall Free-Standing Bird Feeders
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A tall free-standing bird feeder is a feeder on its own pole that you push into the ground, with no tree, hook or railing needed. The useful questions are how high the tray really sits, what holds the pole upright, and whether the tray can come off for cleaning. This page compares seven stands from Amazon listings checked on 2026-10-11, plus two tall hooks for readers who already own a feeder. Everything below comes from the listings, not from our own use, so conflicting sizes are shown rather than resolved.
Quick answer
Best overall for a tall, feeder-first stand: the CQAIRIOU stainless steel tray stand. Its listing gives 48.8 inches overall height, three stated pole settings (49, 33.8 and 18.9 inches) and an 11.8-inch tray with drain holes. Tallest listed: the Parovite 50-inch stand, but its listing is bath-first, with a 12-inch bath bowl and a small feeder bowl. Best for two spots in the yard: the Kingsyard 2-pack, each stand listed at 40 inches tall. Shortest of the group: HRAYLTOP at 29.1 inches, which is only tall compared with a ground feeder.
Related reading on this site: free-standing bird feeders for squirrel problems, squirrel-proof bird feeder poles, and shepherd’s hooks for bird feeders.
What this search is really asking for
The person typing “tall free standing bird feeder” wants a feeder that stands up by itself at a comfortable, visible height and does not rely on a tree branch or a deck rail. That points to four checks: stated height, how the stand anchors in the ground, tray size and material, and whether the tray detaches for cleaning. Capacity in pounds of seed is rarely stated for these platform styles, so we do not rank on it.
How we chose
- Height: a stated overall or above-ground height on the listing. Heights come from the title, dimensions field or bullets, and we show the source when they disagree.
- Freestanding design: the listing describes a ground stake, prong base or pole mount, not a clamp or hanger.
- Tray or bowl: diameter and material as listed, and whether it detaches.
- What the listings do not state: seed capacity (except Kingsyard), wind rating, maximum tray load, squirrel resistance, and for most products how deep the stake goes. We say “not stated” rather than guess.
We have not tested any of these. No prices, ratings or review counts are used; check the current price on Amazon.
Comparison table
| Product | Stated height | Tray or bowl | Base | Material (listing) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CQAIRIOU tray stand | 48.8 in overall; settings 49 / 33.8 / 18.9 in | 11.8 in stainless steel mesh tray, detachable | Not stated (pole stand) | Stainless tray, iron pole |
| iBorn standing feeder | 36 in (title); 37.4 in above ground, 43.3 in total (bullets) | 12 in BPA-free plastic bowl, detachable | 5-prong base, 10.8 in spike | Metal and plastic |
| Kingsyard 2-pack | 40 in each | Removable bowl, 9 x 9 in item footprint | Metal stake, dual ground prongs | Metal and plastic |
| HRAYLTOP bowl on iron stand | 29.1 in stand | Detachable stainless steel bowl | Not stated; 4 straps secure tray | Stainless bowl, steel bracket |
| ZMCYNG bath-feeder bowl | 41 in (title); dimension field 4 x 2 x 6 in | 1.39 L bowl, non-slip edge | 5-prong metal base | Stainless frame, cast iron accents |
| Parovite 50-inch stand | 50 in (title); 50.4 in (bullets) | 12 in bath bowl plus small feeder bowl | 5-prong auger base | Iron |
| YALINKA bath-feeder stand | 40 in (dimension field) | 10.5 in bowl, 2 in deep, plus extra basin | Steel stake, 4 prongs | Steel stake (bullets) |
The best tall free-standing bird feeders
1. CQAIRIOU Stainless Steel Tray Bird Feeder Stand (best overall for a tall feeder-first stand)
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Item dimensions 11.7 x 11.7 x 48.8 inches. The bullets give three pole settings of 49, 33.8 and 18.9 inches. Tray listed at 11.8 inches, one-piece stainless steel, removable, with self-draining holes. Item weight 2.05 kg. Mounting type pole mount; included components stand pole and tray. The listing’s Capacity field says 11.8 inches, which is the tray size, not a seed volume.
Pros: A tray built for seed with drain holes, a stated three-step height range, and a tray that comes off the pole for rinsing.
Cons: The listing does not state the base type or how deep the pole goes into the ground. Its pole description is hard to read (an 0.86-inch rod is mentioned), so confirm the diameter before pairing it with an add-on baffle.
Best for: someone who wants one tray at roughly 4 feet that can be lowered later. Skip if: you want an enclosed hopper that keeps rain off the seed.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. iBorn 36-Inch Standing Bird Feeder with 5-Prong Base (best for a stable base and a feeder-bath tray)
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Title says 36 inches; the bullets give 37.4 inches above ground and 43.3 inches total (they also mention a 10.8-inch spike). 12-inch BPA-free plastic bowl, detachable; 3 pole sections joined by screw-in thread; 1-inch pole; 5-prong stabilizer. Metal and plastic; item weight 1.43 kg. Listed as UV resistant. The listing is built around a bird bath, and the title states a fountain is not included.
Pros: The most detailed anchoring description of the group, and tool-free assembly.
Cons: Three different heights appear on one listing (36, 37.4, 43.3 inches). If the 43.3 inches includes the 10.8-inch spike, the part above ground would be about 32.5 inches, which matches none of the stated figures. Treat the real above-ground height as unconfirmed.
Best for: a yard where wind is a worry and a stable, spike-style base matters more than maximum height. Skip if: you need the tray above roughly 3 feet; the numbers are not consistent enough to rely on.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Kingsyard 2-Pack Free-Standing Tray Bird Feeders (best for two feeding spots)
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Two stands per pack. Item dimensions 9 x 9 x 40 inches. 3-section pole: add or remove link rods to change height. Metal stake with dual ground prongs; anti-rust powder coat. Metal and plastic, removable bowl. Capacity field says 1 kg (about 2.2 pounds by our conversion). The listing says the bowl takes seeds, nuts, suet and mealworms and doubles as a birdbath.
Pros: Two stands in one pack, a stated capacity (one of the few), and a bowl that detaches.
Cons: Two prongs is a lighter base than the 4- and 5-prong designs here. The listing does not say whether the 40 inches is at full height or with all rods fitted.
Best for: a yard with a window view and a patio view, or a gift. Skip if: you want to grow height later; the pole is listed as a 3-section build, but no maximum is stated.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. HRAYLTOP Stainless Steel Bowl on 29.1-Inch Iron Stand (best short stand, not very tall)
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Iron stand listed at 29.1 inches in the title. Detachable stainless steel bowl; 4 black straps in the box to secure the tray to the bracket. Item weight 1.65 kg. The spec fields give no bowl diameter, base type or total dimensions.
Pros: Simple bowl-on-bracket design that the listing says rinses clean with water and a dry cloth.
Cons: Shortest here. Bowl size and base design are not stated, so you cannot judge stability from the listing.
Best for: a low-profile feeder on a patio edge or flower bed. Skip if: you want a feeder at head height.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. ZMCYNG 41-Inch Metal Bird Bath Feeder Bowl (best-looking tall bath-feeder combo)
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Title says 41 inches; the dimension field says 4 x 2 x 6 inches (likely packaged parts, not assembled size). Item weight 4.27 pounds. The bullets describe a 1.39 L bowl, a 5-prong metal base, a thickened iron frame, stainless steel frame with cast iron accents, a black powder-coated surface and a detachable bowl.
Pros: Heavier than most stands listed here, with a 5-prong base.
Cons: The listing is bath-first. Feeder use is mentioned (the bowl can be filled with bird food) but it is a secondary use, and the size fields conflict.
Best for: someone who wants water and a feeder bowl on the same tall stand. Skip if: you want a tray-style feeder with drain holes.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. 50-Inch Tall Metal Bird Bath Stand (Parovite) (tallest listed)
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Dimension field 15.2 x 11.3 x 50 inches; the bullets give 50.4 inches with adjustable sections. 5-prong auger base. Item weight 3 pounds. 12-inch bath bowl plus a small feeder bowl; removable bowl; all-weather rust-proof iron. Manufacturer shown as Parovite.
Pros: Tallest stand on this page, and an auger-style base.
Cons: Bath-first listing with a small feeder bowl; no stated feeder capacity. The product title names no maker.
Best for: someone who wants the highest tray in this group and does not mind a bath-first design. Skip if: you want a dedicated seed tray with drain holes.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. YALINKA Freestanding Bird Bath and Feeder Bowl (best 40-inch combo with a stated bowl size)
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Dimension field 11 x 11 x 40 inches; item weight 3.56 pounds. Bowl diameter 10.5 inches and depth 2 inches. The bullets say an extra basin was added for feeding and bathing, and the steel stake has 4 solid prongs. Manufacturer shown as YALINKA.
Pros: Both bowl dimensions are given, which most others skip.
Cons: The listing itself calls the bowl a small bird bath bowl and a 2-in-1; no seed capacity is stated.
Best for: a mid-height, ground-prong stand for water plus seed. Skip if: you need a bigger tray than 10.5 inches.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
If you already own a feeder: tall hooks
Two listings are not feeders but tall free-standing stands for hanging one. They are worth knowing about if your feeder has a hanging loop. Compare their stated weight limits to your full feeder before ordering.
Vorriop 74-Inch Adjustable Shepherd’s Hook Stand
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Adjustable 28 to 74 inches; two detachable plant racks (9.84 inches across); water bag included, said to weigh about 7.7 pounds when filled. The listing gives both a Maximum Weight Capacity of 20 pounds and a Maximum Weight Recommendation of 7.7 pounds, which conflict. The title says waterproof metal.
Best for: light feeders at up to 74 inches. Skip if: your feeder is heavy; the 7.7-pound figure and the 20-pound figure disagree.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
SIGOWING 61-Inch Tall Freestanding Stand
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-11): Title says 61 inches; the dimension field says 12 x 12 x 63 inches. Weighted 15-inch oval base, listed at 6.6 pounds. 3/4-inch tube; maximum weight 10 pounds; painted metal. Hook is about 8 inches wide.
Best for: a hanging feeder under 10 pounds. Skip if: you need to hang a large seed hopper.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
Worked example: picking a height
Example: you want the tray roughly at the height of a deck table. The CQAIRIOU settings convert as follows: 49 inches is 4 feet 1 inch, 33.8 inches is 2 feet 9.8 inches, and 18.9 inches is 1 foot 6.9 inches. For the iBorn stand, the listing gives 43.3 inches total and a 10.8-inch spike. If the whole spike sits in the ground, that leaves 43.3 minus 10.8, or 32.5 inches above ground, which does not match the 37.4 inches in the bullets. So, with a CQAIRIOU stand you know your three choices in advance, while with the iBorn you should plan for between 32.5 and 37.4 inches above ground until you measure it yourself. For two spots in the yard, a Kingsyard 2-pack at 40 inches each covers both with one order.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying by height alone. Two listings (CQAIRIOU and HRAYLTOP) do not describe the base at all, and none states how deep the stake goes except iBorn.
- Mixing up bath and feeder products. ZMCYNG, Parovite and YALINKA are titled as bird baths first. If you want a seed tray, read the listing bullets for feeder wording.
- Trusting a title height. Where title and dimension fields disagree (iBorn, ZMCYNG, Parovite, SIGOWING), the above-ground height is unconfirmed.
- Putting the stand on a hard surface. The stake and prong designs are described for soil or lawn. Hard paving is not covered by these listings.
Who should skip these
Skip open-tray stands if you want seed kept dry by a roof or a covered hopper, or if squirrels are your main problem. See keeping squirrels off bird feeders before buying.
FAQ
How tall is a tall free-standing bird feeder?
The listings do not define tall. Among the seven feeders and feeder-bath combos here, the stated heights run from 29.1 inches (HRAYLTOP stand) to 50.4 inches (the Parovite 50-inch listing). The CQAIRIOU tray stand lists 48.8 inches overall and 49 inches at its top setting.
Do these feeders need a tree, hook or railing?
No. Every product in the main list is described as freestanding or pole-mounted on its own stake or prong base. Ground type matters, though: the prong and stake designs are meant for soil, so a paved patio or deck needs a different solution that the listings do not describe.
Can I use the same tray for water and seed?
Several listings say so. Kingsyard describes its bowl as usable for seeds, nuts, suet and mealworms or as a birdbath bowl when filled with water, and iBorn calls its BPA-free bowl a 2-in-1 feeder and bath. Check each listing for the exact wording before you plan around it.
Will a tall stand keep squirrels out?
None of the seven listings claims squirrel-proofing. The Parovite listing says its 50.4-inch height helps deter predators, which is a listing claim we cannot verify. For squirrel-focused setups, see the squirrel-proof options linked in the guide above.
What if I already own a feeder and only need a tall stand?
Then you want a stand rather than a tray. The Vorriop listing gives an adjustable range of 28 to 74 inches and the SIGOWING listing gives 61 inches, both with a stated weight limit that is low enough (20 pounds and 10 pounds) that a heavy seed hopper needs checking first.
Why do some of these listings show conflicting sizes?
Amazon listings are written by the sellers and sometimes disagree with themselves. The iBorn listing gives 36, 37.4 and 43.3 inches in different places, and the ZMCYNG title says 41 inches while its dimension field shows 4 x 2 x 6 inches. This page shows the conflicts rather than choosing a number for you.