Multiple bird-feeder poles with squirrel baffles stand in a sunny garden.

Squirrel-Proof Bird Feeder Pole: Best Options

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A squirrel-proof bird feeder pole has two jobs. It has to hold the feeder where squirrels cannot easily reach it, and it has to stand in the spot you have in mind. This guide compares six poles from Amazon listings, using only what each listing states: mount type, height, base, material and the parts in the box. We have not tested any of them, and a listing that says squirrel proof is a seller claim, not a test result.

Quick answer

Start with how the pole will stand, because that cannot be changed later. The eWonLife (pole mount, 9 prong base) and ERYTLLY (pole mount, 80 inches) are both pole-mount designs. The FEED GARDEN is a ground mount with a 7 prong base, the fifth pole uses a ground stake and is the tallest at 110.01 inches, the Gtongoko is listed as a hanging mount with a 19 inch baffle, and the sixth pole is freestanding on 5 prongs. Pick the mount that matches your yard first, then check height, baffle and hooks.

Comparison table

Pole Mount type (listing) Height Base or baffle Material (listing)
eWonLife Pole Mount 92 inch (title) 9 prongs base Not stated
FEED GARDEN Ground Mount 92 inch (title) 7-prong base Alloy steel, metal, powder coated
Gtongoko Hanging Mount 92 inch (title) 19 inch squirrel baffle Powder-coated steel
ERYTLLY Pole Mount 80 in H Squirrel baffle and 2 hooks Metal
Ground-stake pole Ground Stake 110.01 in H Squirrel baffle, mounting kit Alloy steel, metal
Freestanding pole Freestanding 92 in H (title says 91 inch) 5 prongs, squirrel baffle Reinforced 1 inch anti-rust metal

The six poles

eWonLife 92 inch pole with 9 prong base

What it is: A pole-mount feeder pole. The listing gives an item weight of 3.42 kg and a unit count of 1. The title names a 1 inch diameter pole and a 9 prongs base. The listed extras are a bird bath, a hook and a tray, so it is more than a bare pole.

Who it suits: Buyers who want a wide prong base and a bird bath set in one kit.

  • Pros: The 9 prongs base is the widest base named in this group. Special features listed include heavy duty, weather resistant and squirrel proof.
  • Cons: The material is not stated. The listing does not say whether it includes a baffle.

Skip if: You want a lower pole, or you need a surface mount rather than a pole mount.

View the eWonLife pole on Amazon (affiliate link)

FEED GARDEN 92 inch adjustable shepherd hook pole

What it is: A ground-mount pole in black, made of alloy steel and metal with a powder coated finish. The listed parts are a 7-prong base, a hook, the pole, a squirrel proof feature and a user manual.

Who it suits: Anyone who can push the base into soil and wants written setup steps.

  • Pros: Powder coated finish, 7-prong base and a user manual are all listed.
  • Cons: No weight or dimensions are stated beyond the 92 inch title. A ground mount does not work on a deck or patio.

Skip if: Your feeder spot is hard surface with no soil.

View the FEED GARDEN pole on Amazon (affiliate link)

Gtongoko 92 inch double hook pole with 19 inch baffle

What it is: A black powder-coated steel pole listed as a hanging mount. The title describes a double hook layout and a 19 inch squirrel baffle. The included components field says only Accessories.

Who it suits: Buyers who want to hang two feeders from one pole and want a baffle named in the title.

  • Pros: Steel with a powder coated finish, double hook layout and a 19 inch baffle in the title.
  • Cons: The listing does not say how the pole is held upright, and it does not list the hooks, base or baffle as separate parts.

Skip if: You need to know exactly what is in the box before ordering, and the page does not tell you.

View the Gtongoko pole on Amazon (affiliate link)

ERYTLLY 80 inch pole with baffle and 2 hooks

What it is: A metal pole-mount pole listed at 80 in L x 8.9 in W x 80 in H and 2.88 kg. The listed parts are hooks, pole sections and a squirrel baffle, and the title adds 2 hooks.

Who it suits: Yards or porches with limited overhead clearance, since this is the shortest pole here.

  • Pros: Lightest listed weight, baffle and two hooks included.
  • Cons: Only 80 inches tall. The listing says metal without naming the type.

Skip if: You want the feeder higher than 80 inches off the ground.

View the ERYTLLY pole on Amazon (affiliate link)

Ground-stake pole with squirrel baffle and 2 hooks (110.01 inches)

What it is: An alloy steel and metal pole listed at 5 in L x 2 in W x 110.01 in H. The mounting type is a ground stake, and the listed parts are a ground stake, hook, mounting kit, pole sections and squirrel baffle.

Who it suits: Buyers who want the feeder very high and can drive a stake into soil.

  • Pros: The tallest pole here, with a baffle and a mounting kit listed.
  • Cons: Needs soil, and 110.01 inches needs plenty of overhead room. The listing also shows a power source field that has no bearing on a feeder pole.

Skip if: You have a low branch or roof edge above the spot, or only hard ground.

View the ground-stake pole on Amazon (affiliate link)

Freestanding pole with squirrel baffle (91 inch title, 92 inch dimensions)

What it is: A freestanding pole in reinforced 1 inch anti-rust metal, with adjustable height and 5 sturdy prongs per the listing. Item dimensions are 1 in L x 1 in W x 92 in H. The title says 91 inch, so the two figures differ by one inch.

Who it suits: Buyers who want an adjustable pole with a baffle and a prong base.

  • Pros: Adjustable height, anti-rust metal listed, and a baffle is part of the title.
  • Cons: Five prongs is a smaller base than the 7 and 9 prong bases on the FEED GARDEN and eWonLife. The 91 versus 92 inch mismatch means you should confirm the height.

Skip if: You want the widest possible base for windy spots.

View the freestanding pole on Amazon (affiliate link)

Buying checklist

  • Decide the mount first: pole mount, ground mount, ground stake, hanging mount or freestanding.
  • Measure overhead clearance. The poles range from 80 to 110.01 inches.
  • Count hooks and baffles in the box, since the listings name them in different ways.
  • Treat a material or weather claim as a description, not a rating, and check the current page for anything unstated.
  • Leave room to reach both the feeder and the ground below it. Cornell Lab advises cleaning the ground under feeders so hulls and uneaten seed do not build up, and a baffle does not remove that chore.

Related reading: Best DIY Squirrel Baffle for Bird Feeders, Best PVC Pipe and Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder, Best DIY PVC Bird Feeder Pole and Brome Squirrel Buster Plus Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder.

FAQ

How do I choose between a ground mount and a pole mount?

Look at the ground where the pole will stand. The FEED GARDEN is a ground mount and the fifth pole uses a ground stake, so both need soil. The eWonLife and ERYTLLY list pole mount, and the Gtongoko lists hanging mount, so confirm how each is held upright on the current page.

What should I measure before ordering?

Measure the overhead clearance and the ground space. The ERYTLLY is 80 inches tall, the eWonLife, FEED GARDEN, Gtongoko and freestanding poles are about 92 inches, and the ground-stake pole is 110.01 inches.

Does a listed material prove the pole will last outdoors?

No. The FEED GARDEN lists alloy steel with a powder coated finish and the eWonLife title says weather resistant, but these are descriptions, not a weather, rust or load rating.

Is mounting hardware included?

It depends on the pole. The ground-stake pole lists a mounting kit and ground stake, the ERYTLLY lists pole sections, the eWonLife lists a bird bath, hook and tray, and the Gtongoko lists only Accessories. Check the current page if hardware is not named.

Does a baffle stop squirrels completely?

The listings say squirrel proof or include a baffle, but none of these claims has been tested here. A baffle helps only when the pole stands clear of branches, fences and other launch points.

Closing note

Pick the pole whose mount type matches your yard, then compare height and what is in the box. If a listing leaves out something you need, such as the Gtongoko base or any load rating, confirm it on the current page before you order.

Sources

Similar Posts