Outdoor coffee table

Outdoor Coffee Table

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

An outdoor coffee table has two jobs: sit at a sensible height next to your patio seating, and survive rain, sun and the occasional drink. The seven tables below were read from Amazon listings on 2026-10-18, and they range from a 10.25 inch low acacia table to a 36.5 inch resin rattan table with a shelf. Dimensions, materials and weight limits come from the listing text.

Quick answer

  • Largest surface in this group: Wisteria Lane aluminum, listed at 43 x 24 x 16 inches with a 500 lb maximum weight recommendation.
  • Best match for a typical outdoor sofa height: the Amazon Basics wood table (17.3 inches high) or the mapleway table (18 inches high).
  • Shelf for blankets or magazines: the Flash Furniture faux rattan table, with open storage and a 330 lb listed maximum.
  • Lowest, lounge-style table: the Oana acacia table at 10.25 inches high.
  • Smallest, with the lowest listed load limit: DIMAR glass-top wicker (25.2 inch square; 50 lb listed maximum).

Pick the height first

A coffee table that is much taller than the sofa seat is awkward to reach over, and one that is much lower is awkward to lean toward. A common indoor guideline is to keep the table top about level with the seat cushion or slightly lower. That is a rule of thumb, not a standard, and outdoor cushions compress, so treat the numbers as a starting point.

Worked example (our planning estimate): assume your outdoor sofa seat is 17 inches high. The Amazon Basics table (17.3 inches) is 0.3 inch above that. Wisteria Lane (16 inches) is 1 inch below. Flash Furniture and the C-Hopetree table (15 inches each) are 2 inches below. DIMAR (12.6 inches) is 4.4 inches below. Oana (10.25 inches) is 6.75 inches below, so it suits a low lounge chair or floor seating better than a standard sofa. For spacing, many people leave about 16 inches between the sofa front and the table edge. With a 24 inch deep table such as Wisteria Lane, that is 24 + 16 = 40 inches from the sofa front to the far table edge, or 56 inches if you also keep 16 inches clear on the other side.

How we compared

  • Size and height, as listed.
  • Weight limit where the listing gives one. Several do not.
  • Top material: wood, aluminum, resin rattan, glass or woodgrain metal. The listings describe weather resistance as the maker’s claim and we repeat it as such.
  • Assembly: assembly required or not, and what is in the box.
  • Listing consistency: four of the seven listings contain details that disagree with each other, so we flag them.

The seven tables at a glance

Table Size (listing) Weight Weight limit (listing) Top and frame
Amazon Basics Patio Coffee Table 17.4 D x 35.4 W x 17.3 H in 16.4 lb Not stated Wood top, legs; FSC-certified wood
Wisteria Lane Aluminum 43 D x 24 W x 16 H in 24.2 lb 500 lb Aluminum frame; top listed as aluminum and as WPC (see note)
Flash Furniture Faux Rattan 22 D x 36.5 W x 15 H in 17 lb 330 lb Resin frame and resin rattan top, open shelf
Oana Acacia (Christopher Knight Home) 29.5 x 29.5 x 10.25 in 17.64 lb Not stated Acacia wood, slat top
DIMAR GARDEN Wicker 25.2 x 25.2 x 12.6 in 24.4 lb 50 lb PE rattan, stainless steel, 5 mm glass top
mapleway Rustic Wood 33 x 17 x 18 in in title (spec row differs) 13 lb Not stated Wood slat top, metal frame
C-Hopetree Small Metal Two sets of size numbers (see note) 15.65 lb 55.1 lb Powder-coated steel, woodgrain metal top

Our picks

1. Wisteria Lane Aluminum Outdoor Coffee Table: best large surface

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): Item dimensions 43 D x 24 W x 16 H inches, 24.2 pounds, aluminum frame with a powder-coated finish. Listed maximum weight recommendation 500 pounds. The spec rows say no assembly required. A wood handle material is listed. The listing also gives an umbrella hole diameter of 1.5 inches, which is unusual for a coffee table.

Specs checked on 2026-10-18.

Pros: The biggest tabletop of the seven and the highest listed weight recommendation, in a light 24 pound aluminum build. Cons: Listing conflicts: the spec row calls the top aluminum, while a bullet says the top is WPC (wood plastic composite) with a slat design. The title and spec rows say black and a bullet says dark grey. Ask the seller or compare photos before relying on either.

Best for: a sectional or two-sofa layout that needs a wide, sturdy surface. Skip if: you need to know exactly what the top is made of.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Amazon Basics Patio Coffee Table, 35 Inch: best standard-height wood table

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): Item dimensions 17.4 D x 35.4 W x 17.3 H inches, 16.4 pounds, wood top on legs, listed as model JC951. The listing says the wood is FSC-certified (FSC N004130) and that all hardware and assembly instructions are included.

Pros: A height close to the 17 inch sofa-seat example above, a clear sourcing statement for the wood, and a low weight. Cons: The text we read gives no weight limit and no weather-resistance rating. Listing conflict: the title says Natural Finish, while the spec row lists the color as Dark Brown.

Best for: a covered porch where a wood look is wanted. Skip if: you want a published load limit or a weather rating before buying.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Flash Furniture Faux Rattan Outdoor Coffee Table: best with an open shelf

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): Item dimensions 22 D x 36.5 W x 15 H inches, 17 pounds, resin frame and resin rattan top, two shelves listed (top and open storage), plastic block feet. Maximum weight recommendation 330 pounds. Assembly required, detailed instructions included; one year limited warranty. The listing calls it all-weather, indoor/outdoor and commercial grade.

Pros: A listed weight limit that is reasonable for a coffee table, a lower shelf, and a warranty period stated. Cons: At 15 inches high it sits below many sofa seats. It needs assembly.

Best for: a patio with lounge chairs where you want to store throws or magazines. Skip if: you want a solid wood or glass look.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Oana Outdoor Coffee Table, Acacia Wood: best low lounge table

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): Square, 29.5 x 29.5 x 10.25 inches, 17.64 pounds, acacia wood with a slat panel top. Assembly instructions and tools included; 90 day manufacturer warranty. The listing says the table is designed to resist mild weather and advises covering, storing or protecting it in case of heavy or repeated exposure to water and UV.

Pros: A generous square surface and an honest weather statement from the listing. Cons: At 10.25 inches high it is a lounge-height table, and no weight limit appears in the text we read. A listing note says it should be protected from heavy or repeated weather, so budget for a cover.

Best for: a low seating area with floor cushions or deep lounge chairs. Skip if: you want a table you can leave uncovered all year.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. DIMAR GARDEN Wicker Glass Top Coffee Table: best compact accent table

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): Square, 25.2 x 25.2 x 12.6 inches, 24.4 pounds, PE rattan with stainless steel screws and a 5 millimeter glass top. The listed maximum weight recommendation is 50 pounds. The listing says UV-resistant, rust-resistant, all-weather, for indoor or outdoor use, and that it can be combined with matching sofas from the same line. Installation instructions and tool included.

Pros: Small footprint, glass top wipes clean, and it matches the same maker’s wicker sofa sections. Cons: The 50 lb limit is the lowest of the group, and glass is a poor surface for a heavy pot or a tabletop fire pit unless the manufacturer says otherwise. It is also low at 12.6 inches.

Best for: a small corner conversation set. Skip if: you will put heavy items on the table.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. mapleway 33 in Rustic Wood Patio Coffee Table: lightest wood-and-metal table

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): Title and size row say 33 x 17 x 18 inches; a separate item dimensions row says 17 x 17 x 18 inches. 13 pounds, metal frame with a natural wood slat top, model campingtable-wc1. The listing describes triangular bracing, adjustable footpads and pre-drilled slats with labeled hardware. It says the treated wood resists warping, cracking and UV fading and the powder-coated frame resists rust, which are the seller’s claims.

Pros: Lightest in the group at 13 pounds, adjustable footpads for uneven ground, and an 18 inch height that suits a tall sofa seat. Cons: The size rows disagree, so confirm length before ordering. No weight limit appears in the text we read.

Best for: a patio with an uneven surface. Skip if: you need a table of confirmed length.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. C-Hopetree Small Metal Outdoor Coffee Side Table: best small metal table with a stated load limit

Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): Powder-coated steel with a woodgrain metal top, 15.65 pounds, listed to support up to 55.1 pounds. Assembly required; instructions, hardware and tools included. Listing conflicts: one dimensions row reads 18 x 18 x 15 inches and another reads 35.5 x 18 x 15 inches, and the tabletop thickness row says 15 inches, which cannot be right.

Pros: Metal top wipes clean with a damp cloth, and it is part of a collection of matching pieces sold separately. Cons: Three size rows disagree, and the load limit is low.

Best for: a side-of-the-sofa spot where light use is expected. Skip if: you want a large surface or a confirmed footprint.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Listing conflicts to check before you click Buy

  • Wisteria Lane: top described as aluminum in one place and WPC in another; black versus dark grey.
  • Amazon Basics: title says Natural Finish, spec row says Dark Brown.
  • mapleway: 33 x 17 x 18 inches versus 17 x 17 x 18 inches.
  • C-Hopetree: 18 x 18 x 15 inches versus 35.5 x 18 x 15 inches, plus a tabletop thickness of 15 inches.

We have shown each number as the listing gives it rather than choosing one. If the exact size matters, message the seller or compare the product photos with a tape measure.

Heat and weight: what the listings do not say

None of the listing text we read states a heat rating for any of these tabletops. If you plan to set a tabletop fire pit, hot pot or candle lantern on one, follow the fire product’s manual and local rules, and check with the table maker. Our gas tabletop fire pit guide covers what to check on the fire pit side.

Which table, by layout

  • Sectional or long sofa: Wisteria Lane, or the Amazon Basics table.
  • Two chairs and a loveseat: Flash Furniture for the shelf, mapleway for a narrow top.
  • Low lounge seating: Oana.
  • Corner set: DIMAR or C-Hopetree.

Outdoor tables look best in a plan. Our deck railing planter box guide and the standing propane patio heater guide are the closest live topics on this site to a finished patio layout; both are nearest-topic links, because we do not yet have a live post on patio furniture.

Frequently asked questions

What height should an outdoor coffee table be?

A common guideline is a table top level with the seat cushion or a little lower. If your sofa seat is 17 inches high, a table between about 15 and 17 inches suits it. That is a rule of thumb, not a standard.

Is a glass-top outdoor coffee table a good idea?

It wipes clean, but the DIMAR listing gives only a 50 lb maximum and glass is a poor surface for heavy planters or hot items. Use it for light items and check the manufacturer’s guidance.

Can I put a tabletop fire pit on an outdoor coffee table?

None of the listings we read states a heat rating for the tabletop. Follow the fire pit manual, local rules and the table maker’s guidance, and do not assume wood, resin or glass tolerates heat.

Do wood outdoor tables need a cover?

The Oana listing itself advises covering, storing or protecting the table in heavy or repeated exposure to water and UV. Plan for a cover or indoor storage for any wood table in a wet winter.

How far should the table be from the sofa?

Many people leave about 16 inches between the sofa front and the table edge, which allows legs to move and still keeps the table within reach. Treat that as a planning estimate.

Which table has the highest listed weight limit?

Wisteria Lane lists a 500 lb maximum weight recommendation, and Flash Furniture lists 330 lb. Several listings, including Amazon Basics, Oana and mapleway, give no figure in the text we read.

Similar Posts