Outdoor Daybed
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
An outdoor daybed is a seat big enough to stretch out on, usually a rattan or wood frame with thick cushions and, often, a canopy. This roundup compares six daybeds from their Amazon listings, checked on 2026-10-18: four with a canopy, one without, and one that hangs from chains like a porch swing. The listings disagree with themselves on weight, capacity and color in several places, so the conflicts are shown instead of resolved quietly. None names a fabric rating or a flame-safety standard, which means every weatherproof claim below is the seller’s own. Measure your space first, because footprints run from about 5 ft to nearly 6 ft across.
Quick answer
- Most pieces for the footprint: the Outsunny 4-piece round convertible set, which turns from a round daybed into a sofa, two chairs and a table (70.75 x 69 x 57.75 in, 90 lb).
- Simplest to set up: the Modway Siesta canopy daybed, which the listing says ships pre-assembled.
- Highest stated capacity of the free-standing options: the Salches rattan daybed with canopy at 800 lb (the bullet says 794 lb) and the 70 in Outsunny set at 528 lb.
- No canopy, lower profile: the HOMGX rattan daybed, 61 x 52 x 27.5 in, with two cushions and four pillows.
Canopy, cushions and frame: what the listings tell you
A canopy changes the footprint and the height. The Salches and the Outsunny 4-piece list heights of 58.5 and 57.75 in, which look like canopy-up figures, while the 70 in Outsunny set and the Modway list 26.25 and 31 in, so confirm with the seller whether those heights include the canopy. The HOMGX, which has no canopy, is 27.5 in tall. Four of the six use woven rattan on a metal frame, the Modway uses a powder-coated aluminum frame, and the VINGLI is solid pine.
Cushion wording is vague across the board. The HOMGX listing mentions a removable cushion with a waterproof cover, the Modway listing says water and UV resistant with machine-washable covers, and the Outsunny sets say washable covers or water resistant. No listing gives a fabric weight, a lab test or a fade rating, so the cushions are the first place to look for wear after a wet season.
Comparison
| Daybed | Type | Footprint from the listing | Item weight | Stated capacity | Canopy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HOMGX rattan daybed | Free-standing, sofa style | 61 D x 52 W x 27.5 H in | 53 lb | Not stated (seating capacity 3) | No |
| Salches rattan daybed | Free-standing loveseat | 58 D x 65 W x 58.5 H in (spec row); 65 x 60.5 x 58.5 in (bullet) | 59.5 lb | 800 lb (spec row); 794 lb (bullet) | Retractable |
| Outsunny 4-piece round | Convertible set | 70.75 x 69 x 57.75 in | 90 lb | 352 lb | Retractable |
| Outsunny 70 in set | Daybed set, 4 pieces | 33.5 D x 70 W x 26.25 H in | 93 lb | 528 lb | Adjustable or retractable (see card) |
| Modway Siesta | Canopy daybed | 63 x 63 x 31 in | Listing shows 0.01 ounces (unusable) | Not stated | Yes |
| VINGLI porch swing daybed | Hanging, 6 ft | 28.4 D x 71.9 W x 20.9 H in | 70.8 lb | 880 lb | No |
Worked example: how much deck do you need?
This is a planning example with an assumed clearance, not a listing recommendation. Say you want 24 in of walking room on every side of the daybed. Add 48 in (24 + 24) to each dimension. For the Outsunny 4-piece set at 70.75 x 69 in, that becomes 118.75 x 117 in, or about 9.9 x 9.75 ft. For the HOMGX at 61 x 52 in it becomes 109 x 100 in, or about 9.1 x 8.3 ft. A 10 x 10 ft patio therefore suits either one with little spare room, while an 8 x 8 ft balcony suits neither once clearance is counted. If you plan to open a retractable canopy, check the listing for its sweep, which none of the pages states.
The six daybeds
1. Outsunny 4-Piece Round Convertible Daybed, Dark Gray (most pieces)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size and weight: 70.75 x 69 x 57.75 in; 90 lb
- Capacity: 352 lb maximum
- Pieces: 4 (2 chairs, a sectional sofa piece and a table)
- Frame and finish: metal frame; polyethylene and rattan; retractable canopy; spec row says waterproof: true
- Warranty: 6 months against manufacturer defects (spec row)
- Assembly: required; a screwdriver may be needed
Pros
- Convertible: round daybed or a sofa with chairs and a tea table
- Washable cushion covers listed under additional features
Cons
- Shortest warranty of the Outsunny models here (6 months, against 1 year on the 70 in set)
- Waterproof is a spec row without a named test
Best for: a patio where the layout may change between a lounge bed and a seating group
Skip if: your space is under about 10 ft in either direction
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Outsunny Patio Furniture Set Round Daybed, 70 in, Cream White (highest capacity of the sets)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size and weight: 33.5 D x 70 W x 26.25 H in; 93 lb; seat depth 20.9 in
- Capacity: 528 lb maximum; seating capacity 4
- Frame: galvanized steel; PE rattan, polyester and PP cotton
- Features: adjustable feet, retractable canopy, water resistant
- Warranty: 1 year against manufacturer defects
- Pieces: two-seat sofa, two chairs and a multifunctional center piece, per the bullet
Pros
- Stated capacity of 528 lb is the highest of the sets
- One-year warranty
Cons
- Listing conflict: the title calls it a round daybed, but the dimensions of 33.5 D x 70 W do not explain how the pieces form a round shape
- The bullet says adjustable canopy, the spec row says retractable canopy
Best for: buyers who want to rearrange two chairs and a sofa
Skip if: you want a single round lounging surface, which the dimensions do not make clear
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Salches Outdoor Rattan Daybed with Retractable Canopy (metal frame with trays)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size: 58 x 65 x 58.5 in in the spec row (D x W x H); 65 x 60.5 x 58.5 in in the bullet (L x W x H)
- Weight and capacity: 59.5 lb; 800 lb in the spec row, up to 794 lb in the bullet
- Frame: heavy-duty metal and hand-woven PE rattan
- Extras: retractable canopy, 2 foldable trays on pneumatic rods, 2 sponge cushions, 4 pillows with removable cover
- Assembly: installation required, 2 people recommended
Pros
- Foldable side trays and canopy in a 59.5 lb package
- Instruction manual included
Cons
- Dimensions and capacity are listed two different ways
- Seating capacity of 2, so it is a loveseat rather than a full-length bed
Best for: two people who want a canopy and side trays
Skip if: you need the lighter and lower HOMGX height of 27.5 in
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. HOMGX Rattan Patio Outdoor Daybed (no canopy)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size and weight: 61 x 52 x 27.5 in (D x W x H); 53 lb
- Seat: seat depth 61 in, seat height 14.2 in (bullet); seating capacity 3
- Included: instruction, 1 rattan daybed, 2 cushions, 4 pillows
- Materials: metal frame, aluminum legs, rattan and sponge; listed as weather-resistant
- Cushion: removable, waterproof cover per the listing; a bullet says machine washable
Pros
- Lowest height of the free-standing daybeds at 27.5 in
- Armrests tilt adjustable, per the bullet
Cons
- Color conflict: the spec says white while a bullet describes beige with a black border
- No weight capacity stated
Best for: a small patio or poolside where no canopy is wanted
Skip if: you want shade built in
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. Modway Siesta Wicker Rattan Outdoor Patio Canopy Daybed (ships pre-assembled)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size: 63 x 63 x 31 in; seat height 15.5 in
- Frame and seat: powder-coated aluminum; synthetic rattan weave
- Care: machine-washable cushion covers; water and UV resistant per the bullets
- Assembly: the listing says no assembly required and ships pre-assembled
- Weight: the spec row shows 0.01 ounces, which cannot be right
Pros
- No assembly, which the listing states in two places
- Aluminum frame
Cons
- Unusable weight figure, so lifting and shipping weight are unknown
- No weight capacity stated
Best for: anyone who does not want to assemble furniture
Skip if: you must know the weight before buying
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. VINGLI 6 FT Upgraded Pine Wood Porch Swing Daybed (hanging alternative)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-18):
- Size and weight: 28.4 D x 71.9 W x 20.9 H in; 70.8 lb
- Capacity: 880 lb recommended maximum
- Material: solid pine frame with adjustable chains and carabiner ends
- Cushion: 4.1 in thick with a removable zipper cover
- Assembly: 2 people, about 30 minutes per the listing; do not tighten screws until the last step
Pros
- Highest stated capacity here at 880 lb
- Cushion cover is removable
Cons
- It hangs, so you need an overhead support and should check what hardware the listing includes
- It is a swing bed, not a free-standing daybed
Best for: a covered porch or pergola with a structure to hang it from
Skip if: you have nothing overhead to hang from
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How to choose between them
Decide on the canopy first, because it drives the footprint and the shopping list. With a canopy, the choice is between the Salches (loveseat width, trays), the Outsunny 4-piece (convertible, 352 lb) and the Modway (pre-assembled). Without one, the HOMGX is lower and lighter. If you have a beam to hang from, the VINGLI offers the highest stated capacity.
Use after sunset or into cooler months is a separate question. The standing propane patio heater guide and the patio heater deals guide cover the heater side, always with the manufacturer’s manual and local rules as the authority on clearances. For evening light, the outdoor string lights guide lists weatherproof ratings as stated on the listings. These are the nearest live patio topics on this site.
Frequently asked questions
Do outdoor daybeds come with cushions?
In these listings, yes. The HOMGX includes 2 cushions and 4 pillows, the Salches 2 sponge cushions and 4 pillows, the VINGLI a 4.1 in cushion, and the Outsunny and Modway sets list cushions as part of the product.
Are outdoor daybeds waterproof?
The listings use words such as waterproof, water resistant and UV resistant, but none names a test or rating. Treat them as seller claims and store cushions under cover in heavy rain.
How much space does an outdoor daybed need?
The footprints here run from 61 x 52 in (HOMGX) to 70.75 x 69 in (Outsunny 4-piece). Add whatever walking room you want on each side; the worked example above uses 24 in per side as an assumption.
Which daybeds need assembly?
The Outsunny sets, the Salches, the HOMGX and the VINGLI require assembly, with 2 people recommended on several. The Modway listing says it ships pre-assembled.
Is a porch swing daybed the same as a free-standing daybed?
No. The VINGLI hangs from chains and needs an overhead support, while the others stand on the ground.