Best Solar Garden Lanterns

Best Solar Garden Lanterns

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The best solar garden lanterns for most yards are hanging or tabletop models with a warm flame-style LED, a built-in battery, and a mount that fits the spot you have in mind. This guide compares seven lanterns from seven brands, using the bullets and spec tables on their Amazon listings. The listings do not always agree with each other, and the sources we opened do not measure how any lantern holds up over a season, so each pick comes with a limit you can check before you buy.

Quick answer

  • Check the mount first. In five of the seven listings, the spec table names only tabletop or wall mounting, while the bullets also describe hanging the lantern from a hook, ring or branch.
  • Treat runtime as the seller’s claim. Stated light times run from 8 to 12 hours after a full charge, and in one listing the bullets and the spec table give different figures.
  • Know what kind of power you are buying. These lanterns run on one or two small cells or a built-in battery. They are not the 12-volt garden circuits that the university extension pages below describe.
  • Pick by the job. Choose a flame-style hanging pair for a porch, a rattan or PVC lantern for a table, and the jar set for a party table or a row of hooks.

What the listings say about charging and light

Every lantern in this guide makes light from a battery that a small solar panel charges during the day. The listings state the battery type, the charging time and the hours of light in different ways, so Table 1 puts the figures side by side.

Table 1: Battery, charging and light claims in the seven listings

Lantern Battery in the spec table Charging in the bullets Light time in the listing
Joiedomi 2 pack 2 AA, nickel-metal hydride Daylight for 6 hours Up to 10 hours
KOOPER 4 pack 1 AA, nickel-metal hydride Direct sun for a charge 8 to 12 hours in the bullets; 10 hours in the spec table
SANMOON 2 pack Lithium-ion polymer Solar needs 8 hours of sun; USB takes 4 hours Not stated
Dolucky 2 pack 1 AA, battery type listed as solar Not stated in the bullets we used Not stated
GIGALUMI 6 pack 1 AAA, per the spec table Stores sun during the day 8 to 10 hours with a full charge
GUANFU 3-candle Solar battery Charge in the sun with the switch on 8 hours in the spec table
BONLION 2 pack 800mAh battery, per the bullets 4 to 6 hours of daylight 10 to 12 hours

The charging figures are not the same kind of number. SANMOON gives the hours of sun a solar charge needs, BONLION gives hours of daylight, and KOOPER and GIGALUMI give no charging hours at all. Only two listings, Joiedomi and BONLION, give both halves of the picture. Divide the listed light hours by the listed charging hours and their claims work out to about 1.7 to 3 hours of light for each hour of daylight: Joiedomi’s 10 divided by 6 is about 1.7, and BONLION’s 12 divided by 4 is 3. That is a rough ratio drawn from the sellers’ own copy, but it is a useful habit when a listing gives only half of the figure you need.

The sources we opened do not say how many sun hours a lantern needs during a cloudy week, or how much light it gives in the second winter. So treat every charging figure in Table 1 as a starting point, not a promise.

Mounting: where the spec tables and the bullets disagree

Mounting is the detail most likely to send a lantern back, and it is where the listings disagree most. Table 2 sets the spec-table entry beside the wording of the bullets.

Table 2: Mounting in the spec table against the bullets

Lantern Spec table: Mounting Type Bullets say
Joiedomi Tabletop Mount Can be “used as hanging lanterns for patios or standing solar lanterns”
KOOPER Wall Mount Can be hung on “porches, trees, pergolas, branches with the hanging ring” or rested on a tabletop
SANMOON Wall Mount, Tabletop Mount, Floor Mount Hung from walls, tree branches and porches, or placed on the ground, tables or steps
Dolucky Hanging Hang on a porch, patio, tree or pathway, or place on a tabletop
GIGALUMI Tabletop Mount Hang them where they get daytime sun, or set them on the ground or patio tables
GUANFU Tabletop Mount Put it on a tabletop, or hang it on a shepherd’s hook
BONLION Tabletop Mount Hang or secure it on trees, fences, walls or pergolas, or place it on tables

In five of the seven listings, the spec table names only tabletop or wall mounting while the bullets describe hanging: Joiedomi, KOOPER, GIGALUMI, GUANFU and BONLION. Dolucky is the one listing whose spec table says hanging. SANMOON lists wall mounting alongside tabletop and floor use, which covers hanging as well.

The listings also name their hanging hardware in different ways. GUANFU has an S-hook, BONLION has a handle and a clip, SANMOON has a hemp rope, KOOPER has a hanging ring, and GIGALUMI includes hangers in its set. The Dolucky bullets do not name any hardware. If you need a lantern that hangs from a hook, read the bullets and the title first, then ask the seller what is in the box before you order. The spec tables are not a reliable guide to hardware in this group.

Electrical and outdoor safety

Garden lighting is often low voltage. The Ask Extension answer on outdoor lights says it plainly: “Most outdoor lights are typically low voltage; often just 12 volts.” The UF/IFAS publication on solar power in the garden goes further. It says that “most electrical applications can be met with low-voltage 12-volt DC power, including pathway lights, fountain pumps, landscape backlighting,” and that a solar panel can charge the storage battery that runs them. The same page says that a loose wire or scraped insulation “is not as great of concern with low-voltage 12-volt DC circuits,” and it advises that gardeners “routinely check electrical systems for loose connections and damage or scraped insulation.”

Those are useful frames, but none of the lanterns in this guide is a 12-volt garden circuit. Their spec tables list one or two AA or AAA cells, or a nonstandard lithium-ion polymer cell in the SANMOON set. For a lantern, the one part the listings give a specific instruction for is the switch. GUANFU places its ON/OFF switch on the lantern cover and tells you to turn it on before charging. The UF/IFAS advice to check for loose connections and damaged insulation is the closest sourced guidance we found, and it fits the same habit: look at the switch, the cover and any hanger before you leave the lantern out for a season.

Placement is a separate safety question, and it is about light, not current. Iowa State University Extension’s landscaping guide describes tier or accent lights that “define paths, walkways, or steps,” and says that step and surface mount lights “provide subtle accent lighting for increased safety along sidewalks, buildings, pools, and paths.” That guide is from 1994, so read its fixture advice as general planning, not as advice about any lantern on this list.

Light output: what the listings give and what they leave out

Only one listing in this group gives a maximum light output. The Dolucky spec table lists 18 lumens and a 2700 Kelvin warm white color temperature. The other six give no lumen figure, which means the brightness words in their bullets cannot be compared. KOOPER says its lanterns are “brighter than other solar lanterns,” but it does not say how much brighter. BONLION describes “softer and more ample illumination,” which is a description of the light rather than a measurement.

For a porch where people sit and talk, the warm, low light that most of these listings describe is likely enough. For a path you walk after dark, or a table where someone reads, 18 lumens is low, and the listing gives no way to check a brighter figure. Ask the seller for lumens before you buy if brightness matters to you.

Which style fits which spot

Flame-style hanging lanterns. KOOPER describes a “dancing vivid flame” with four light sources, and SANMOON offers a flame flicker mode and a steady-on mode, switched with one button. Both are built for hooks, branches and porch corners. KOOPER is the one to choose if you want several lanterns in a pack, and SANMOON is the one to choose if you want a backup charge by USB.

Rattan and PVC lanterns. Dolucky’s rattan body, according to its bullets, spreads the LED light through the woven strands. GUANFU uses a PVC cover in place of glass. Its bullets say the glass is “easy to break and poses safety hazards,” and that PVC is “not easy to break.” That is the listing’s own safety claim, and the sources we opened do not cover lantern glass, so treat it as the seller’s reasoning.

Mason jar sets. GIGALUMI’s six-pack uses glass mason jars, with a lid light and a hanger on each. The jars are listed at 3.2 inches in diameter and 5.3 inches high. The set suits a table centerpiece or a line of jars on a hook. It is the least like a traditional garden lantern, and the listing calls it a decorative light.

Metal and clip-on styles. Joiedomi’s lanterns have a metal body with a stenciled lily design, and the bullets say the stencil projects illuminated patterns at night. BONLION’s clip and handle give you more places to attach a lantern than a tabletop base does, which matters for pergolas and fences.

Placement in the yard

Iowa State University Extension’s landscaping guide sorts garden lighting into a few groups: tier or accent lights that define paths, walkways and steps, floodlights aimed up and down fences or walls, and step or surface mount lights for low accents. The solar lanterns in this guide belong to the accent group, because each one is small and runs from its own battery. Read the placement advice that way. A lantern works as an accent at eye level on a porch rail, on a table, or on a low hook, and it is not a floodlight for a fence line.

Only the Dolucky spec table gives a light output figure, so the sources do not tell you how far any of these lanterns reaches. Measure the spot you want to light, then compare that with the listing wording before you decide whether one lantern is enough or whether you need a row of them.

Keeping the lanterns working through a season

Solar lanterns need the same few checks each season: the panel has to see the sun, the battery has to hold a charge, and the switch has to be in the position the bullets describe. GUANFU’s bullets are the clearest on that last point, because its switch sits on the lantern cover and must be turned on before charging. If a lantern stops lighting after a dim week, check the switch and the sun exposure before you assume the battery has failed. The sources we opened do not give a replacement interval for any lantern in this group, so keep the listing page or the seller’s manual for the battery type you bought.

What the listings say about rain and frost

Five listings claim an IP65 rating: Joiedomi, KOOPER, SANMOON, Dolucky and BONLION. GUANFU says its lantern is silicone waterproof and dustproof, and GIGALUMI says it is designed for sunny days, rainy nights and small snowy days. The spec tables do not all match these claims. Dolucky’s spec table says “Water Resistant,” while its bullets say IP65 waterproof.

The sources we opened do not explain what an IP65 rating covers for a lantern, so the rating is best read as the seller’s statement. If the lantern will sit in rain or frost for months, look for a listing that is consistent across its bullets and its spec table, and check whether the bullets describe the switch and battery cover as weatherproof.

A buying checklist

  • Confirm the mount. Match the spec table to the bullets, because five listings name only tabletop or wall mounting while the bullets describe hanging.
  • Read both charging figures. Look for the hours of sun or daylight needed to charge, and the hours of light after a charge. KOOPER and GIGALUMI give no charging hours, so ask the seller for them.
  • Note the battery. The spec tables list one AA (KOOPER, Dolucky), two AA (Joiedomi), one AAA (GIGALUMI) and a lithium-ion polymer cell (SANMOON). Write the type down so you buy the right replacement later.
  • Match the water claim. The IP65 wording in the bullets should agree with the water resistance row in the spec table. For Dolucky, the two do not agree.
  • Ask for lumens if brightness decides the purchase, because only Dolucky gives a figure.

The seven picks

Each pick below uses the listing’s own bullets and spec rows. The pros and cons come from those rows, and the skip-if line tells you when to pass on that lantern.

1. JOIEDOMI 2 Pack Outdoor Solar Hanging Lantern Lights, Waterproof Tabletop with Handle, LED Moroccan (Joiedomi 2-pack flower-pattern lanterns)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-21):

  • Power Source: Solar Powered
  • Number of Batteries: 2 AA batteries required.
  • Material Type: Metal
  • Item Dimensions L x W x H: 5.9″L x 5.9″W x 6.3″H

Pros

  • The listing includes two lanterns, two solar panel LED lights and two AA Ni-Mh 600 mAh rechargeable batteries
  • Metal body with a stenciled lily flower design that the bullets say suits a patio, porch or backyard

Cons

  • The spec table lists a tabletop mount, while the bullets say the lanterns can be used as hanging lanterns for patios
  • The bullets give up to 10 hours of light after six hours of daylight, and the sources we opened do not confirm that figure

Best for: Patios and porches where a metal lantern with a flower cut-out suits the decor
Skip if: You need a lantern that hangs from a hook, because the spec table lists tabletop mounting and the bullets do not describe hook hardware

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. KOOPER 4 Pack Solar Lantern Outdoor Lights, Upgraded Flickering Flame Solar Lanterns Lights Outdoor (KOOPER 4-pack flickering flame lanterns)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-21):

  • Battery Life: 10 hours
  • Item Weight: 11.2 ounces
  • Mounting Type: Wall Mount
  • Battery Description: Nickel-Metal Hydride

Pros

  • Four lanterns in one pack, with a flickering flame effect that the listing describes as a dancing, vivid flame
  • The spec table lists four light sources per lantern and a 90-day manufacturer warranty

Cons

  • The spec table gives 10 hours of battery life, while the bullets say 8 to 12 hours after a full charge
  • The spec table says Wall Mount, and the hanging ring appears only in the bullets

Best for: Shoppers who want several flame-style lanterns for different hanging spots around a yard
Skip if: You want a steady white light, since the listing describes a flickering flame

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. 2 Pack Solar Flame Lantern Lights — Flickering Flame Hanging Lanterns Outdoor, Waterproof Garden (SANMOON 2-pack flame lanterns with USB charging)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-21):

  • Battery Description: Lithium-Ion Polymer
  • Light Source Special Features: Flame Flicker Mode, Steady-On Mode
  • Item Weight: 1.04 pounds
  • Mounting Type: Wall Mount, Tabletop Mount, Floor Mount

Pros

  • Two charging routes: the listing says USB takes four hours and solar takes eight hours of sunlight
  • Two modes, a flame flicker and a steady-on light, switched with one press of the button

Cons

  • Solar charging takes eight hours of sunlight, so a run of cloudy days may leave you relying on the USB option
  • The spec table lists a lithium-ion polymer battery, and the listing gives no battery care steps

Best for: Porch or patio users who want a flame look and a USB option for cloudy weeks
Skip if: You want a lantern that stays put in a flower bed on a stake, because the bullets describe hanging, resting or tabletop placement

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Solar Lanterns Outdoor Waterproof, 2 Pack Hanging Solar Lights for Outside, Auto On/Off Solar (Dolucky 2-pack rattan lanterns)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-21):

  • Light Output Maximum: 18 lumens
  • Color Temperature: 2700 Kelvin
  • Water Resistance Level: Water Resistant
  • Material Type: Rattan

Pros

  • Handwoven rattan body that the bullets say spreads the warm LED light evenly
  • Auto on and off, with a 2700 Kelvin warm white color temperature in the spec table

Cons

  • The spec table lists 18 lumens at maximum, a low output that the bullets never mention
  • The spec table says Water Resistant while the bullets say IP65 waterproof, and the sources we opened do not settle which applies

Best for: Porch or tabletop decor where a warm, low glow suits the space
Skip if: You need light to read by or to walk a path, because the listed maximum output is 18 lumens

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. GIGALUMI Hanging Mason Jar Solar Lights, 6 Pack 30 Led Hanging Lantern | Solar Lanterns Outdoor (GIGALUMI 6-pack mason jar lights with hangers)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-21):

  • Material Type: ABS Lids
  • Number of Batteries: 1 AAA batteries required. (included)
  • Item Weight: 4.77 pounds
  • Mounting Type: Tabletop Mount

Pros

  • Six glass mason jars, six lid lights and six hangers are included, according to the bullets
  • Each lid carries 30 LEDs in the spec table, and the bullets say the jars work on tables, fences or trees

Cons

  • The spec table lists tabletop mounting, while the bullets describe hanging the jars from hangers
  • The bullets say 8 to 10 hours with a full charge, but no spec row gives a runtime to compare it with

Best for: A patio table centerpiece or a line of hanging jars for a party or a garden row
Skip if: You want a lantern without glass, since the bullets describe glass mason jars

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Solar Outdoor Lantern, Garden Hanging Waterproof Lanterns PVC Upgrade 3 LED Flickering Flameless (GUANFU 3-candle PVC lantern)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-21):

  • Material Type: Plastic, Polyvinyl Chloride (PVC)
  • Battery Life: 8 hours
  • Item Dimensions L x W x H: 14″L x 5.5″W x 14″H
  • Wattage: 1 watts

Pros

  • Three flickering LED candles in one lantern, with a PVC cover that the bullets say is not easy to break
  • An S-hook lets it sit on a table or hang from a shepherd's hook, according to the bullets

Cons

  • The bullets say to turn the switch ON before charging, and the switch sits on the lantern cover
  • The spec table lists 8 hours of battery life and 1 watt, and the sources we opened do not cover runtime for this model

Best for: A tabletop or shepherd's hook spot where a glass lantern might break
Skip if: You need more than 8 hours of light a night, since the spec table lists 8 hours

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. Solar Lantern Outdoor Waterproof, 2 Pack Bright Hanging Solar Lights for Outside Decorative (BONLION 2-pack hanging lanterns with handle and clip)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-21):

  • Color Temperature: 2700 Kelvin
  • Light Source Wattage: 0.4 watts
  • Number of Batteries: 1 Nonstandard Battery batteries required. (included)
  • Mounting Type: Tabletop Mount

Pros

  • The bullets state an 800mAh battery and say 4 to 6 hours of daylight gives 10 to 12 hours of light
  • A handle and a clip for trees, fences, walls and pergolas, according to the bullets

Cons

  • The spec table lists tabletop mounting, while the bullets describe hanging on trees, fences and walls
  • The bullets claim 30% higher charging efficiency than similar products, a comparison the listing does not back with a source

Best for: Patio or pergola spots where a clip gives more placement options than a tabletop base
Skip if: You need a measured lumen output, since the listing does not give one

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

How we chose

This guide started from an Amazon search for solar garden lanterns. We kept listings for solar-powered lanterns meant for outdoor garden, yard or patio use, and we left out floor lamps, table lamps, a Halloween torch, and lanterns sold mainly as gifts. From what remained we chose seven lanterns from seven different brands, so no single maker dominates the list.

For each lantern we read the title, the bullet points and the spec table on the product page, and we quote those rows directly. The criteria are the battery and charging wording, the mount type, the light figures and the water-resistance claim, because those are the details that decide whether a lantern fits a spot. This guide does not rank the lanterns by price, rating or sales rank.

What we could not verify

  • Light hours. The listings give 8 to 12 hours of light after a full charge. The sources we opened do not measure those figures for any lantern in this group.
  • Water resistance. Five listings say IP65, and GUANFU says silicone waterproof. The sources we opened do not explain what IP65 covers in a lantern, and the Dolucky spec table says “Water Resistant” instead.
  • Battery life. The Dolucky spec table lists a battery life of 20000 hours. The listing does not explain that figure in nightly terms, so we do not use it.
  • Brightness. Only Dolucky gives a lumen figure, 18 lumens at maximum. The other listings describe brightness in words only.
  • Glass and PVC. The GUANFU listing says glass “poses safety hazards” and PVC is “not easy to break.” The sources we opened do not cover lantern glass or PVC covers.
  • Battery safety. The sources we opened do not cover the batteries in these lanterns, including the lithium-ion polymer cell that the SANMOON spec table lists.
  • Jar fit. GIGALUMI gives the jar size, but we found no source on how a hanger or lid light fits a standard mason jar lid.

FAQ

Are solar garden lanterns safe to hang outdoors?

They run on small batteries charged by a panel, not on house wiring. UF/IFAS says a loose wire or scraped insulation is “not as great of concern with low-voltage 12-volt DC circuits,” and Iowa State’s landscaping guide describes accent lights as a way to add safety along paths. Those pages cover garden wiring and lighting in general, not these lanterns, so they do not settle whether a particular hook or branch will hold a lantern. Check the hanger the listing describes before you hang one.

How many hours should a solar garden lantern run?

The listings state between 8 and 12 hours of light after a full charge, with Joiedomi stating up to 10 hours. The sources we opened do not give a required number, and the listings do not say how much sun the lantern needs to reach those hours after a cloudy week.

Do solar garden lanterns need full sun?

The listings give the charging figures in hours of sun or daylight rather than as a full-sun rule. SANMOON says solar charging takes eight hours of sunlight, BONLION says four to six hours of daylight, and Joiedomi says six hours of daylight. Less sun means a shorter charge, so a shaded spot is a poor fit for any of these.

Which solar garden lantern is the brightest?

Only the Dolucky spec table gives a lumen figure, 18 lumens at maximum. KOOPER says its lanterns are brighter than other solar lanterns, but the listing does not quantify that. Ask the seller for lumens before you buy if brightness is the deciding factor.

Why do the spec tables and the bullets disagree?

We cannot say why the listings differ. We can only say that in this group they differ on mounting in five listings, on water resistance in Dolucky, and on runtime in KOOPER. Read both sections, and use the figure that matches the way you plan to use the lantern.

Can a solar garden lantern stay outside through winter?

Five listings claim an IP65 rating, BONLION says its lantern suits “year-round outdoor use” in “freezing cold,” and GIGALUMI says its set is designed for “small snowy days.” The sources we opened do not cover how cold weather affects the batteries in these lanterns, so the listing wording is the only guidance on winter use that we can pass on.

Do the batteries need replacing?

None of the listings states a replacement interval, and the sources we opened do not give one either. Dolucky’s spec table lists a battery life of 20000 hours, which the listing does not explain. Note the battery type in the spec table before you look for a replacement, such as nickel-metal hydride for Joiedomi and KOOPER, or lithium-ion polymer for SANMOON.

Bottom line

Buy for the mount you will actually use. Check the hanger or base in the bullets, read the runtime as the seller’s claim, and then choose the style: flame, rattan, PVC or jar. If your yard needs lights for a flower bed instead, see best outdoor solar lights for flower beds. For a stake-style light, see best solar LED crackle ball stake light.

Sources

  • UF/IFAS Extension, EP571, Green Power in the Garden, opened 2026-10-21: https://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/EP571
  • Ask Extension, Landscape lighting answer, opened 2026-10-21: https://ask.extension.org/kb/faq.php?id=907530
  • Iowa State University Extension, Landscaping with Light (article dated 1994), opened 2026-10-21: https://yardandgarden.extension.iastate.edu/article/1994/5-25-1994/light.html

Similar Posts