Best Solar Powered Edison Bulb String Lights
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
Solar powered Edison bulb string lights let you hang vintage-style bulbs over a patio without running an outdoor cord. The trade-off is that the panel, battery and bulb count all matter more than they do on a plugged-in strand. This guide compares six sets by length, bulb spacing, charging options, weather rating and controls, using only what each listing states. You will see which set suits a small balcony, which suits a long pergola, and which listing details deserve a second look before you order. Plan for a sunny spot for the panel, because everything else depends on it.
Quick answer
Pick by the span you must cover, then confirm the weather rating on the listing. For most patios and pergolas, the first pick is the safest starting point: 50 feet of cord, 25+2 ST38 bulbs and a stated IP65 rating. For a long fence or yard, the second pick is listed at 100 feet with 32 bulbs. For a balcony or bistro table, the third and fifth picks are 25-foot sets, and the fifth includes a spare bulb. The fourth adds a 6H / 8H auto-off timer. The sixth deserves a double check, because its listing gives two different lengths.
What matters when you buy solar powered Edison bulb string lights
Bulb shape and material
Five of the six sets list ST38 bulbs; the sixth lists S14. Both are sold as Edison-style shapes, so the practical difference is material and socket. Every listing describes its bulbs as shatterproof or plastic, and three name PET. Only two state a socket: E12 on the fourth pick and E26 on the sixth. That number tells you what to search for if you want spares later. Where it is missing, the listing does not state it.
Cord length, lead length and bulb spacing
A listed length is cord length, not lit length. The third pick shows the split clearly: 25 feet of cord, a 3.77 FT lead from the panel to the first bulb, 2.3 FT between its 10 bulbs and a 0.33 FT tail. The fourth pick lists an 8FT lead and 3FT between bulbs. The sixth lists a 5.5 ft lead and 20-inch spacing. The other three do not state spacing, so you cannot judge how densely they light a beam.
Charging, backup and run time
All six use a solar panel. The first, third, fourth and fifth also list a USB route as backup. The second and sixth do not list one. Run-time numbers are maker claims, and they depend on sun. The fifth states a 6-hour solar charge, a 2-hour USB-C charge and 12+ hours of glow. The first says 8 hours of sun supports all-night lighting. The rest do not state a run time for their own length.
Weather rating wording
Quote the rating, not the adjective. The first, second, third and fifth picks state IP65, and the first adds ETL safety certification. The fourth and sixth say waterproof but give no IP number, and the fourth also lists indoor and outdoor use. If a strand will hang under open sky for months, a missing number is a reason to read the manufacturer’s manual before you buy.
Controls: remote, timer and dimming
The second, third, fourth and fifth list a remote. The third, fourth and fifth list four brightness levels, which the third spells out as 25%, 50%, 75% and 100%. The fourth and fifth add 6-hour or 8-hour auto-off timers. The first lists five modes, and the sixth uses a push button. A remote saves you a walk to the panel, which usually sits at the far end of the strand.
1. Kawaya ST38 Solar Outdoor String Lights 50FT for Patio Garden Porch Bistro (Best overall)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Item Length: 50 feet
- Number of Light Sources: 25
- Color Temperature: 2700 Kelvin
- Wattage: 3 watts
- Voltage: 3 volts_of_direct_current
Pros
- Listing states IP65 and ETL certification
- Offers solar and Type-C dual charging
- Detachable bulbs can be replaced singly
Cons
- Listing contradicts itself about the remote
- Lead length and spacing are not stated
Best for: A mid-size patio or pergola needing about 50 feet of lights
Skip if: You need a confirmed remote or only a short balcony run
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. 100FT Solar String Lights Ourdoor Waterproof,Patio Lights Solar Powered with Remote,ST38 32 Vintage (Best for long runs)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Item Length: 100 feet
- Number of Light Sources: 32
- Number of Batteries: 2 Nonstandard Battery batteries required. (included)
- Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1 year manufacturer.
Pros
- Listed at 100 feet of cord
- Includes 32 ST38 Edison bulbs
- Remote dimming and auto on-off listed
Cons
- No USB backup charging is listed
- Bulb spacing and lead length are not stated
Best for: Long fence lines, big pergolas and yard-wide canopies
Skip if: You have a balcony or want cloudy-day charging
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. 25FT Solar String Lights Outdoor Waterproof for Patio Hanging (Best for balconies)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Item Length: 25 feet
- Color Temperature: 2700 Kelvin
- Controller Type: Remote Control
- Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1 year.
Pros
- Lists 2.3FT bulb spacing and lead lengths
- Offers solar and USB-C charging
- Remote gives four brightness levels
Cons
- Runtime line names a 100FT set
- Lists 24 volts DC on a solar set
Best for: Balconies, bistro tables and pergola corners
Skip if: Your sunny spot is over 3.77 FT from the first bulb
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Dazzle Bright Solar String Lights Outdoor, 66FT Waterproof Patio Light ST38 (Best with a timer)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Item Length: 792 inches
- Voltage: 24 volts
- Wattage: 1.8 watts
- Bulb Base: E12
- Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1 year.
Pros
- Lists an 8FT lead from the panel
- Remote includes a 6H / 8H timer
- Panel is described as 180° adjustable
Cons
- No IP rating is stated
- The listing never explains the +2 bulbs
Best for: Medium to long patios where a timer and long lead help
Skip if: You need a stated IP number
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. 25FT Solar String Lights Outdoor Waterproof, LED ST38 & Remote (Best compact with spare bulb)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Item Length: 25 feet
- Number of Light Sources: 8
- Voltage: 4.5 volts
- Wattage: 1.2 watts
- Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1-year warranty.
Pros
- Includes a spare bulb per the listing
- States a 2-hour USB-C full charge
- Remote sets 6-hour or 8-hour timers
Cons
- Only 8 bulbs along the listed 25 feet
- Spacing and lead length are not stated
Best for: Small spaces where a timer and spare bulb matter
Skip if: You want a closely spaced string of many bulbs
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. 35 ft 18 LED Patio String Lights, Solar Powered E26 Socket S14 Edison Bulbs (Best for E26 sockets)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Item Length: 25 feet
- Bulb Base: E26
- Bulb Shape Size: S14
- Voltage: 5 volts
- Wattage: 3 watts
Pros
- Listing states an E26 bulb base
- Lists 18 lights with 20-inch spacing
- Pre-assembled and ready to hang
Cons
- Title and specs give different lengths
- Strands cannot connect end to end
Best for: Buyers who want an E26 socket and can confirm the length
Skip if: You need a firm measurement for a tight span
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
The six picks in detail
First pick: the 50 ft set with ETL wording
This set lists 50 feet of cord with 25+2 ST38 bulbs in 2700 Kelvin warm white. The listing states IP65 and ETL safety certification, which no other pick here states. A 3W solar panel is listed, with Type-C charging for cloudy days. The bullets also mention copper core wiring and detachable bulbs, so one failed bulb should not mean replacing the whole strand. The spec sheet gives 3 volts DC and 3 watts. The limit is a contradiction: the controller type says remote control, yet a bullet describes five modes “without remote control.” Confirm what ships before you count on dimming. The listing also gives no warranty, no lead length, no bulb spacing and no explanation of the “+2.” Choose it for a patio or pergola that needs most of 50 feet. Skip it if you need a confirmed remote or only a short balcony run.
Second pick: the 100 ft set with 32 bulbs
This is the longest set here: 100 feet of cord and 32 ST38 vintage Edison bulbs, warm white, in black. The listing states IP65 and says the string is dimmer compatible with remote dimming. A light sensor switches it on at dusk and off at dawn. The spec sheet adds two included non-standard batteries and a 1-year manufacturer warranty, and the bulbs are described as shatterproof plastic. The limits: no USB charging is listed, so a run of dull days depends on sunshine alone. The listing also gives no lead length, no bulb spacing, no color temperature and no run time. Choose it for a long fence line, a large pergola or a yard-wide canopy. Skip it for a balcony, or if you want a cloudy-day charging option.
Third pick: the 25 ft set for balconies
This is the best documented short set. The listing gives a 25FT cord, 10 ST38 bulbs, 2.3FT between bulbs, a 3.77FT lead from the panel and a 0.33FT tail. It states IP65, 2700 Kelvin and a 1-year warranty. Charging is solar or USB-C. The remote offers Steady On, Pulse and Flash, plus brightness steps of 25%, 50%, 75% and 100%. A light sensor turns it on at dusk and off at dawn. The limit is a runtime line that reads “each 100FT set provides up to 18 hours,” which cannot describe a 25FT set, so do not rely on it. The spec sheet also lists 24 volts DC, which sits oddly beside a panel and one battery. Choose it for a balcony, a bistro table or a pergola corner. Skip it if your sunniest spot is more than 3.77 FT from where the first bulb hangs.
Fourth pick: the 66 ft set with a timer
The listing gives 66FT of string with 20+2 ST38 bulbs spaced 3FT apart and an 8FT leading wire. The color is 2700 Kelvin warm white, and the base is listed as E12. The remote handles on/off, four brightness levels, a 6H / 8H auto-off timer and three modes, and a memory function restores your last setting. The panel is described as 180° adjustable, with solar and USB charging. Specs list 24 volts, 1.8 watts, 16 ounces and a 1-year warranty. The limit is weather wording: the listing says waterproof and all-season but states no IP rating, and it never explains the “+2.” Choose it for a medium-to-long patio where a timer and a long lead matter. Skip it if you need a stated IP number.
Fifth pick: the compact 25 ft set with a spare bulb
This set lists a 25-foot string with 8+1 shatterproof Edison bulbs, and the bullets say a spare bulb is included. The listing states IP65 and 2700 Kelvin. It claims a 6-hour full charge by solar, a 2-hour full charge by USB-C and 12+ hours of glow. The remote sets 6-hour or 8-hour timers, four brightness levels and three modes. The spec sheet adds 4.5 volts, 1.2 watts, one included non-standard battery and a 1-year warranty. The limit is density: it lists 8 bulbs for the same 25 feet where the third pick lists 10. Bulb spacing and lead length are not stated. Choose it if a timer and a spare bulb matter more than bulb count. Skip it if you want a closely spaced string.
Sixth pick: the S14 set with an E26 socket
This set uses S14 bulbs, listed with an E26 base, 2700 Kelvin and 18 lights. Specs give 5 volts, 3 watts and push-button control, and the bullets say it is pre-assembled with a weatherproof socket. The limit is length. The title says 35 ft, the spec sheet says 25 feet, and the bullet says 35 feet with a 5.5 ft lead and 20-inch spacing. Rely on none of those until the seller clarifies. The listing also states no IP rating and no warranty. A bullet adds that two strands cannot be connected end to end. Choose it if an E26 socket matters to you and you can confirm the length. Skip it if you need a firm measurement for a tight span.
Side-by-side comparison
| Pick | Listed length | Bulbs | Charging as listed | Weather wording | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First | 50 feet | 25+2 ST38 | Solar, Type-C | IP65, ETL | Not stated |
| Second | 100 feet | 32 ST38 | Solar | IP65 | 1 year |
| Third | 25 feet | 10 ST38 | Solar, USB-C | IP65 | 1 year |
| Fourth | 66 feet | 20+2 ST38 | Solar, USB | Waterproof, no IP number | 1 year |
| Fifth | 25 feet | 8+1 ST38 | Solar, USB-C | IP65 | 1-year |
| Sixth | 25 feet or 35 ft (conflict) | 18 S14 | Solar | Waterproof, no IP number | Not stated |
How to choose by situation
If your span is 25 feet or less, choose the third pick when you want stated spacing and lead lengths. Choose the fifth when a timer and a spare bulb matter more.
If your span is roughly 30 to 50 feet, choose the first pick. Choose the fourth instead if you want the timer and the 8FT lead and can accept an unstated IP number.
If you need a very long run, choose the second pick for 100 feet of cord. Choose the fourth for 66 feet, 3FT spacing and a remote with timer.
If your panel will sit in a shady yard, favor a set with a listed USB route: the first, third, fourth or fifth. The second and sixth list sun as the only charging source.
One pergola beam runs 14 ft and the second side runs 9 ft. You add 3 ft for sag between hooks, and the panel will sit 4 ft from the first hook.
Run needed: 14 + 9 = 23 ft. Add slack: 23 + 3 = 26 ft. Add the panel lead: 26 + 4 = 30 ft.
A 25-foot set falls 30 – 25 = 5 ft short. The 50-foot set leaves 50 – 30 = 20 ft spare. The 66-foot set leaves 66 – 30 = 36 ft spare. The closest fit above your need is the 50-foot first pick. The leftover cord is a useful reminder that longer is not automatically better: you must hide or coil what you do not hang.
Five mistakes to avoid
- Buying by headline length alone. The lead from the panel and the tail after the last bulb are part of that number, so the lit stretch is shorter.
- Treating “waterproof” as an IP rating. Two picks use the word with no number, so ask before you commit.
- Trusting a run-time claim without checking which length it describes.
- Hanging the strand first and hunting for sun later. The lead length decides how far the panel can sit from the first bulb.
- Ignoring a listing that contradicts itself. Some sets that call themselves solar in the title list a corded power source in the specs, so read the Power Source line.
If you searched by LED count or by manufacturer
Phrases such as 10 led bulb solar string lights, 15 led solar string lights, 50 led solar fairy lights, 50 led solar string lights warm white and 100 firefly string lights solar tend to point at thin fairy or firefly strands rather than bulb strings. The six picks here list bulb counts instead, from 8+1 to 32. Compare an LED count only with other fairy strands, and compare bulb counts only with other Edison sets. If you came looking for amir solar powered string lights or amir upgraded solar string lights, neither appears among these six, so judge any such set against the same criteria above. For a wider view, see our guide to the best rated outdoor solar string lights and the 50 ft solar string lights roundup.
Panel placement and related guides
The panel is the part you cannot hang overhead. If the lead is too short for your sunniest spot, read our guide to outdoor solar lights with a separate solar panel. If you want a set that includes a switch for turning the strand off, see solar string lights with an on-off switch. For panel upgrades on lights you already own, the solar panel guide for LED string lights covers that case.
Worked example: checking the third pick’s cord split
The listing gives a 3.77 FT lead, 2.3 FT between bulbs and a 0.33 FT tail, with 10 bulbs. Nine gaps at 2.3 FT make 20.7 FT, and 3.77 + 20.7 + 0.33 = 24.8 FT. That total is close to the 25 FT cord length, which is consistent with the listed length including the lead and tail, not just the lit stretch.
FAQ
How long do solar Edison bulb string lights stay lit?
Of these six, only the fifth pick states a run time for its own length: 12+ hours after a 6-hour solar charge. The third pick’s listing mentions 18 hours but names a 100FT set, so it is unclear. The others state no run time. Treat every figure as a maker claim.
Can I connect two strands together?
Only the sixth pick’s listing addresses it, and it says its strands cannot be connected end to end. The other five do not say. Check the manual before planning a longer run from two sets.
Do they work on cloudy days?
The first, third, fourth and fifth list a USB charging route for days without sun. Output still depends on how much charge the panel collected.
Are the bulbs glass?
The listings describe them as shatterproof plastic. Three name PET, one says polyvinyl chloride is the material type, and the others say plastic. A listing is the only guide here, so check it for the pick you choose.
What do the “+2” and “+1” in the bulb counts mean?
The fifth pick’s listing says a spare bulb is included, which fits its 8+1. The first and fourth do not explain their “+2,” so ask the seller if the count matters to you.
How far can the panel sit from the first bulb?
Where stated, the third pick has a 3.77 FT lead, the sixth a 5.5 ft lead and the fourth an 8FT leading wire. The first, second and fifth do not state a lead length.
Can I leave them up all winter?
Several listings describe year-round or all-season use, but those are maker claims. Follow each manufacturer’s manual for storage and cold-weather guidance.
Bottom line
Measure your span, add slack and the panel lead, then choose the shortest set that covers it. Choose the third pick for 25 feet or less, the first for 30 to 50 feet, and the second or fourth for longer runs. Rule out any set whose listing hides its weather rating or gives two different lengths until the seller clarifies.
Sources
- EPA: Composting at Home: general yard-care background only; no product claim in this guide depends on it
- NOTE: No supplied source covers solar string lights, so every product statement above comes from the listings themselves.