Best Outdoor Heater for Patio Rental: 5 Picks Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
An outdoor heater for patio rental has to suit a space you may not own and a lease you must follow. Start with the fuel. Electric heaters plug into an outlet, while propane heaters need a tank, a stable base and an open outdoor area. This guide compares five heaters, two electric and three propane, using the heat output, coverage, cord, tank and safety details that each listing states. It flags where a listing is unclear and compares the coverage and heat figures the listings state. Read your lease before you buy, then use the picks to match a heater to the patio you have.
Quick answer
Choose electric if your lease limits open flames and you have an outdoor outlet you can use safely. Choose a propane tower if you need wide coverage and can store a tank outside. Choose a tabletop propane heater only for a small table area, not a full patio. Compare cord length and tank requirements before you order, because the listings differ on both. The first and second picks are electric, the third is a tabletop propane heater, and the fourth and fifth are wheeled propane towers. The fifth lists the highest BTU figure of the five, and the second electric pick lists the larger coverage figure. Measure your patio first.
What matters for an outdoor patio heater
Fuel and what your lease allows
Fuel decides most of the setup. The two electric picks need an outlet that can carry a 1500-watt heater. The propane picks need a tank. The fourth pick’s listing says its 20 lb propane tank is not included, and the listings for the others differ on whether a tank comes with them. Rental rules vary, so read your lease before you buy an open-flame unit. For tank sizes, see the 20 lb propane tank guide for patio heaters.
Heat output and coverage
Electric heaters are rated in watts and propane heaters in BTU per hour. The two electric picks list 1500 watts each. The propane picks list 11,000, 46,000 and 50,000 BTU. Coverage is described differently: the first pick’s bullets say up to 160 square feet, the second’s say up to 200 square feet, the tabletop pick says up to 30 square feet, and the fourth describes a 9-foot radius. These are different kinds of figure, so do not treat them as equal.
Cord, outlet and weather
The second electric pick lists a 7.8 ft cord. The first electric pick’s listing does not state a cord length. Neither electric listing states an IP rating. The first pick’s highlight says waterproof, but without a rating the weather protection is unconfirmed. Check whether the outlet is outdoor-rated before you plug in a 1500-watt heater.
Tip-over and overheat protection
Both electric picks list overheat protection, and the first describes a self-resetting thermal cutoff. The tabletop pick lists a tilt switch and a burner screen guard. The fourth pick lists a tilt safety auto-shut-off valve. The fifth pick’s listing does not state a tip-over feature. Compare these features against where the heater will sit.
Portability and size
The two propane towers have wheels, and the tabletop pick sits on a table. The electric picks have carry handles, and their listings do not state wheels. The fourth pick is 91.3 inches tall and weighs 16.78 kg, so measure the storage space and the route to the patio before you buy.
Warranty
Only two picks state a warranty period. The second electric pick lists up to 1 year of warranty service, and the tabletop pick lists a 1 year limited warranty.
How to choose
Choose electric if your lease rules out propane and you have an outdoor outlet that suits a 1500-watt heater. Choose a propane tower if you need wide coverage and have a safe place to store a tank outside. Choose the tabletop pick only for a small table on a balcony, porch or deck.
Before you buy, confirm three things: the fuel rules in your lease, your outlet or tank plan, and the coverage you need. Follow the manufacturer’s manual, local fire rules and the clearance guidance in the manual. None of the five listings states a clearance distance, so the manual is the place to find it.
1. Outdoor Heaters for Patio, 1500W Electric Garage Heater, Black (Best electric for a patio)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Heat Output: 1500 watts
- Heating Method: Forced Air
- Fuel Type: Electric
- Number of Speeds: 3
- Indoor/Outdoor Usage: Indoor, Outdoor
- Item Dimensions D x W x H: 7.5″D x 9.5″W x 6.5″H
Pros
- Three listed settings: 20W, 750W and 1500W
- Coverage up to 160 square feet per the bullets
- Noise under 40 dB per the bullets
Cons
- Neither IP rating nor cord length stated
- Waterproof wording without a rating
- Title calls it a garage heater
Best for: Renters with a safe outdoor outlet who want an electric option with adjustable heat.
Skip if: You need a confirmed weather rating, or a heater for a large open patio.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Buyplus Outdoor Heaters for Patio, 1500W Portable Garage Heater with Overheat Protection & 3S Fast (Best cord length)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Heat Output: 1500 watts
- Heating Method: Convection
- Heating Element: Radiant
- Number of Speeds: 3
- Indoor/Outdoor Usage: Indoor, Outdoor
- Form Factor: Dish
Pros
- Cord listed at 7.8 ft
- Up to 1 year warranty service
- Under 40 decibels per the bullets
Cons
- Heating method described three ways
- Form factor reads dish
- Coverage claim of 200 square feet differs from the other electric pick
Best for: Patios where a longer cord reaches an outlet and a one-year warranty matters.
Skip if: You need a wall mount or a heater for a large, open patio.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Cuisinart Portable Tabletop Patio Heater, 11,000 BTU Outdoor Propane Heater with Safety Tilt Switch (Best tabletop choice)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Form Factor: Tabletop
- Heat Output: 11000 british thermal units
- Warranty Description: 1 year limited warranty
- Item Weight: 8.5 pounds
- Mounting Type: Tabletop Mount
- Number of Speeds: 3
Pros
- Tilt switch and burner screen guard in the title
- 11,000 BTU heat output
- 1 year limited warranty
Cons
- Coverage up to 30 sq. ft. only
- 130 °F field is unexplained
- 20-lb tank and regulator not included
Best for: A small table on a porch, patio or camping trip.
Skip if: You need coverage for a full patio or a floor-standing unit.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Amazon Basics 46,000 BTU Portable Outdoor Propane Patio Heater with Wheels, Commercial (Best wheeled tower)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Heat Output: 46000 british thermal units
- Heating Coverage: 9 feet
- Fuel Type: Propane
- Item Weight: 16.78 kg
- Item Dimensions D x W x H: 32.12″D x 32.12″W x 91.3″H
- Included Components: Patio heater
Pros
- Wheels for moving the unit
- Tilt safety auto-shut off valve
- Chain included to secure the tank
Cons
- 20-lb propane tank not included
- 91.3 inches tall and 16.78 kg
- Listing does not state runtime per tank
Best for: Wide patios with a tank stored outside and a wheeled unit you can reposition.
Skip if: You cannot store a 91.3-inch unit or a propane tank outdoors.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. GasOne 50,000 BTU Outdoor Propane Patio Heater, Stainless Steel with Wheels (Best stainless steel tower)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Heat Output: 50000 british thermal units
- Power Source: Propane
- Included Components: Patio heater, Regulator hose
- Item Dimensions D x W x H: 31.89″D x 31.89″W x 86.61″H
- Special Feature: Adjustable Temperature
- Heating Element: Radiant
Pros
- Highest BTU figure of the five
- Listing states regulator hose included
- Listing states adjustable heat control
Cons
- No tip-over or auto shut-off feature stated
- Propane tank inclusion not stated
- Weight not stated in the listing
Best for: Large backyards or terraces that need a stainless body and high output.
Skip if: You need a listed tip-over feature or a compact footprint.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
The picks in detail
First pick: the 1500 W electric heater with three modes
The title calls this an outdoor heater for patio and a 1500W electric garage heater. The item highlight lists fast heating, three modes, waterproof wording and overheat protection. The bullets describe a PTC ceramic heater that warms in about 3 seconds, and a switch that moves between 20W, 750W and 1500W. The lower settings suit mild evenings. The bullets state coverage of up to 160 square feet and noise under 40 dB. The listing includes a non-slip base and a carry handle.
The listing has gaps. The waterproof wording appears in the highlight, but the listing states no IP rating and no cord length. The title says garage heater while the usage field says indoor and outdoor, so confirm the use you have in mind. Its heating method field reads forced air, which the listing does not connect to the PTC description.
Skip this pick if your patio is open to rain and you need a stated rating, or if you need a large heater for an open area.
Second pick: the electric heater with a 7.8-foot cord
The listing titles it an outdoor heater for patio, 1500W portable, with overheat protection and fast heating. It is the only electric pick with a stated cord length: a 7.8 ft long wire. The bullets say the unit makes less than 40 decibels, which the listing presents as quiet enough for conversation or reading. It has three settings, and the listing states up to 1 year of warranty service. The usage field says indoor and outdoor.
The bullets claim coverage up to 200 square feet, which differs from the first pick’s 160 square feet. Both are the makers’ figures, so compare them with your patio size. The listing also describes the heating method three ways: convection in one field, radiant in another, and PTC ceramic in the bullets. Its form factor reads dish, which is unusual for a patio heater.
Skip this pick if you need a wall mount, a stated weather rating, or a heater for a large open patio.
Third pick: the tabletop propane heater with a tilt switch
The listing describes an 11,000 BTU tabletop propane heater with a safety tilt switch and a burner screen guard. The bullets say it warms up to 30 sq. ft., and the special features list fast heating, lightweight and portable. It weighs 8.5 pounds and measures 12.5 by 16.5 by 25.3 inches. The listing gives a 1 year limited warranty and three speeds for adjustable heat.
The bullets say you can use a 1-lb propane tank for short evenings, or connect a 20-lb tank through a regulator that the listing says is optional and not included. Its maximum temperature field reads 130 °F, a figure the listing does not explain, so do not treat it as a comfort setting.
Skip this pick if you need coverage for a full patio. Its coverage suits a small table, not an open deck.
Fourth pick: the 46,000 BTU propane tower with wheels
This propane tower is listed at 46,000 BTU, with a 9-foot radius in its bullets. It has wheels for moving it and a one-touch ignition button. Its features include a tilt safety auto-shut-off valve, a water box to weigh down the base, and a chain to secure the tank. The listing gives a slate gray powder-coated finish, a height of 91.3 inches and a weight of 16.78 kg. The bullets describe it for cafes, restaurants and home patios.
The listing says a 20-lb propane tank is not included, so you need to buy one separately. It does not state how long a tank lasts at a given setting. The height means you need a clear place to store it upright.
Skip this pick if you need a small or lightweight unit, or if you cannot store a propane tank outdoors.
Fifth pick: the 50,000 BTU stainless steel tower
This tower is listed at 50,000 BTU with adjustable heat control. Its body is stainless steel, and the bullets describe it as built for regular outdoor use. The included parts are the patio heater and a regulator hose. Integrated wheels let you move it around a yard or deck, and the item measures 31.89 by 31.89 by 86.61 inches. The listing describes radiant heat that mimics an open flame, and it suits backyards, patios, terraces and balconies, along with small commercial spaces such as cafes.
The listing names no tip-over switch or other shut-off feature, gives no weight, and does not say whether a propane tank is included. Skip this pick if you need a listed tip-over feature or a compact footprint.
Side-by-side comparison
| Pick | Fuel | Heat output | Coverage listed | Wheels | Safety features listed | Tank |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First pick | Electric | 1500 W | Up to 160 sq ft | Not stated | Overheat protection | Not applicable |
| Second pick | Electric | 1500 W | Up to 200 sq ft | Not stated | Overheat protection | Not applicable |
| Third pick | Propane | 11,000 BTU | Up to 30 sq ft | Not applicable (tabletop) | Tilt switch, burner screen guard | 20-lb tank and regulator not included |
| Fourth pick | Propane | 46,000 BTU | 9-foot radius | Yes | Tilt auto-shut-off valve | Not included |
| Fifth pick | Propane | 50,000 BTU | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
Three buying scenarios
A renter who cannot use propane
Your lease rules out open flames, and an outdoor outlet is available. The first or second pick fits.
A wide patio with space to store a tank
You need broad warmth and can keep a tank outside. The fourth or fifth pick suits this. Confirm the tank plan first, since the fourth pick’s listing says its tank is not included.
A small table on a balcony or porch
You want warmth for two or three people at a small table. The third pick suits this use, and it sits on the table rather than the floor. For a standing propane model, see the standing propane patio heater guide.
Coverage and heat differences compared
The two electric picks state 160 and 200 square feet, so the second pick’s listed coverage is 40 square feet more than the first’s. The fourth pick lists 46,000 BTU and the fifth lists 50,000 BTU, so the fifth pick’s listed output is 4,000 BTU higher. These are the makers’ figures, so check them against your own patio before you compare the picks on coverage alone.
Common mistakes
- Comparing coverage figures as if they were the same measure. Square feet, a radius and a table top are different measures, so compare them against your own patio size.
- Assuming a tank comes in the box. The fourth pick’s listing says the tank is not included, so plan for one before you order.
- Trusting the word waterproof without a rating. The highlight says it, but the listing gives no IP rating.
- Using a tabletop heater as a floor heater. The third pick is listed as a tabletop mount, so it suits a small table, not a full patio.
- Running a propane unit indoors or in a garage. Propane heaters are for outdoor use only, so keep the tank and the heater outside.
FAQ
Is an electric patio heater enough for a rented patio?
It depends on the patio’s size and the outlet. The listings give 160 and 200 square feet for the two electric picks, and those are the makers’ figures. Measure your patio and check the outlet before you decide.
Can I use a patio heater in a garage?
Some listings use garage in the title. Check the usage field and the manual before you use any heater in a garage. A propane unit is for outdoor use only.
How long does a propane tank last?
The listings do not state runtime for any propane unit. Check the tank size and the manual’s guidance, and compare them with the setting you plan to use.
Do I need to buy a tank with the heater?
The fourth pick’s listing says its 20 lb tank is not included. For the others, the listing does not say, so check before ordering.
What does BTU mean?
A simplification: BTU is a unit of heat output per hour. A higher number means more heat, but it does not measure coverage on its own, because wind and shelter also affect how the warmth feels.
Are these heaters safe in rain?
Only the first pick uses the word waterproof, and its listing states no IP rating. Treat that as unconfirmed rather than a rating.
What is the difference between a tilt switch and a tip-over feature?
Both are designed to shut off the flame or heat when the unit tilts. A simplification: the listings describe the feature but do not state the angle at which it trips.
Bottom line
Choose the first or second pick if your lease rules out propane and you have an outdoor outlet that suits a 1500-watt heater. Choose the third pick for a small table, not a patio. Choose the fourth or fifth pick for a wide patio, after you confirm the tank plan and the storage space. If your patio is small and a table will do, you may not need a floor unit at all.